We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Steampunk HQ

Steampunk HQ
Ranked #2 of 33 things to do in Oamaru
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Steampunk hq, which opened in november 2011, is an art collaboration proudly based in oamaru, new zealand. It sets out to portray an industrial version of steampunk, with a giant sense of humour and larger than life visions of an off the wall steampunk universe. Steampunk HQ is well known for its full scale train engine that spits fire and billows smoke The lonely planet guide rates steampunk hq as one of nz’s best new tourist attractions.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Visiting Oamaru for many years, we have seen a huge amount of hype for Steampunk HQ. We were disappointed when we finally visited it. There were a few interesting exhibits, but mostly a lot of old stuff with little explanation. I found a lot of the old machinery interesting, but that is just me. A highlight was the experience with lights and mirrors, but the rest was not memorable.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank aps_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    208
    75
    23
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chelmsford
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Still at a loss.”
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Did not really understand this art concept before entering and l do not have a clue after going around the Steam punk museum.lt would be helpful if there was a commentary or someone to explain its origins and goals. To the layman it just looks like a lot of rusty industrial waste fashioned into the set of a
Mad Max movie. At 10bucks entrance charge overpriced.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank barbelbasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Not as inspiring as I'd hoped”
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Don't get me wrong, the place is interesting - but I think the most interesting item is the steam engine outside the building which you can set in motion for the cost of $1.00 (or was it $2.00?!).

There's a variety of quirky stuff inside but, if I'm honest, my interest waned after the first 10 minutes or so as it was all fairly 'samey'. Some clever use of recycled machinery.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank KerryKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Something different but fun”
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Oamaru is such a great place to visit and this attraction is one of the many reasons. We enjoyed this quirky place and loved the portal experience that we kept going back for more. The whole place is an amazing piece of art.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Have a go on the Tuk Tuks”
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Interesting place to visit but even more fun is the tuk tuks you can hire just at the entrance. We rode around the waterfront and through town. Loads of fun. ( and exercise )

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Stormpipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steampunk HQ also viewed

 

Been to Steampunk HQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing