We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$245
Priceline
$245
Agoda.com
$192
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveller rating
41
120
80
22
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
41
120
80
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old building the main street sky channels nice place to stay town victorian sally
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 275 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2023 via mobile

First time staying here, had one night up in room 18. No real complaints, the hotel is old but is well maintained and looked after and the staff were all happy and friendly. I ate in the restaurant and tried the seafood chowder which was delicious. I also had a Monteiths Black which I think was the last pint in the barrel! It dribbled out of the tap and was pretty flat and lifeless… but I was thirsty so down it went.
The room was small but had in it what you need - it was clean, the shower was great and the wifi fast. The only downside was a very noisy group of birds that started making noise outside my window from 6am, two hours before my alarm was due to go off. Overall a nice relaxing stay

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank FushNChips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2023 via mobile

This place was lovely. I start building really well maintained the Rangehood very comfortable X extra high ceiling, very spacious, really nicely renovated, the bathrooms, very modern, and for an extremely cold time of the year. The rooms and dining areas were quite warm and well heated

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank kaahu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 June 2023 via mobile

Overall the rooms were very good, staff very friendly. Breakfast however let them down. We had to wait an hour for our meals, poached eggs over cooked, bacon dry and almost beef jerky. The hash browns were inedible with no evidence of potato.

Room tip: Perhaps find a better breakfast venue.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Joanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 May 2023

The hotel was right at the center of Oamaru, with a lot of shops and restaurants nearby. The room was a bit dated but well kept and clean.

Oamaru is a lovely small city and this hotel is a good option for a short stay.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank freddysg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate Oakley, Guest Services / Front Office at Brydone Hotel Oamaru, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2023

Thank you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2023 via mobile

We stayed here to experience the old building. One night in the Spa suite and it was wonderful. The bathroom with spa is a lovely, heated room and the bed in the old part was very good.

The old lift still works and the sweeping staircase is grand. If you enjoy history then the nostalgia that staying in the old section of the hotel brings is great. The double hung windows still work and let in a wonderful breeze. We arrived on a Sunday night, the restaurant was closed, fortunately opposite the hotel is Fat Sally’s a popular bar and restaurant serving great food.

5 stars for the experience of the old world

Room tip: Bar and restaurant across the road, stay in the old section of a great experience
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nanma-Julles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate Oakley, Guest Services / Front Office at Brydone Hotel Oamaru, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2023

Thank you for the review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews