We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveller rating
41
121
80
22
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
41
121
80
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old building the main street sky channels nice place to stay town victorian sally
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 276 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2023

Room was dated, very hot-even with the sash window opened right up & a fan given on request. Bathroom floor tiles very slippery. Bed was sloping down at head-end, required 3 pillows. Whole building very old with uneven flooring. One lift was not operating so had to use stairs from ground floor up to our room & Whitson room where our function was. No toilets near Whitson room, lucky we had access to our room nearby, otherwise have to go down 2 floors by stairs to get to the loos. Even if all lifts were operating, we'd still have to carry cases down some stairs to get access to carpark around the back.No concierge seems to be available.Food was good & would consider going back for food only.

Room tip: Make sure find out exactly your level of accomodation eg exact facilities before booking. Check both lifts operating before confirming booking
Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2023

room clean neat and tidy, although a little dated. we were disappointed that the restaurant wasn't open that evening, in fact we couldn't find anywhere in the whole town open for food! except mcdonalds! which was a shame!

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank leaguey72000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cilla Martin, Guest Services / Front Office at Brydone Hotel Oamaru, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2023

Sorry you couldn't find anywhere to eat, hopefully we will reopen on Sunday evenings again soon. Thank you for the review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2022

Booked 2 nights over Christmas. Lovely old building but modern inside. Spacious room with both queen and single beds, very comfortabke and quiet. All accommodation is on the second floor but easy to access with the lift. Great shower and amenities. We didn't dine there but there is a bar and a restaurant serving breakfast and dinner. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Easy access after hours too. Will definitely stay there again. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: November 2022
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2022 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as it was close to two attractions we wanted to take our grandson to see while on holidays. The room was adequate, but only until the people in the next room started to argue and children spent hours running up and down the hallways. The walls are paper thin. Not a good nights sleep, glad to leave.

Oamaru is soo pretty but will definitely stay in another hotel next visit.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 689kymb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 August 2022 via mobile

Would only stay here again if it was the lowest cost. Dated facilities even in the newer part of the hotel. Certainly wouldn't eat in the restaurant again with limited choice and limited service... no staff to take food order, had to make food order at the bar.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank uncleremus2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews