We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
26
95
65
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
95
65
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful old building great central location whirlpool bath the hotel is conveniently located reception desk superior room the main street common areas would stay again quiet room nice breakfast down stairs great bathroom blue penguins family room good size new zealand
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Lovely big, old hotel right in the middles of the town centre. Very quiet, well appointed room. Excellent, substantial breakfast with lots of choice. Very helpful and friendly staff. Perfect position for exploring the whole of Oamaru and its delights.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Okiwa_Bay_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

Ventured to Oamaru to visit Steam Punk for the day. Worked up an appetite after exploring the town and happened upon this lovely establishment. The staff were friendly and personable - lovely atmosphere. Ordered a couple of coffees and the shots were spot on - just what we needed after walking around on a brisk day. At first glance the lunch menu didn't appear too exciting - ordered chicken satay and my partner ordered battered blue cod. In short, AMAZING food! The chicken was cooked to perfection; cod melted in your mouth; portion sizes were just right; simple food cooked and seasoned beautifully - kudos to the chef/cook. Will certainly stop off if we're ever in the neighbourhood again.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeff9220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Great few days with friends . One big negative is service received at the Brydone Hotel Oamaru. Called the front desk explained my apple air buds had been taken from the room . Service person said she would check with cleaner . Two hours later still no reply . Suggest avoiding this hotel dishonest ,and poor service . Very disappointed with Hotels poor service .

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

Great to stay in the Victorian precinct area. Comfortable beds and nice to see they are updating the hotel. My suggestions are to put an additional mirror in the main room as the bathroom fogs up too much. We chose to not have our beds and towels changed as the green option, which meant that the hotel would make a donation to the penguin colony. Unfortunately they forgot to update the tea and milk so we had to ring through to reception for that, and a bathplug.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed in the superior room with spa bath over Easter. Beautiful room, clean, tidy and large. Very warm. The Brydone is a great central location in walking distance to everywhere. Food not so great but there's plenty of local cafes and restaurants. Plenty of parking out back.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Stormpipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews