We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
26
97
65
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
97
65
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful old building great central location high ceilings whirlpool bath reception desk very helpful and friendly staff superior room the main street common areas would stay again old style great bathroom bed was comfortable blue penguins new zealand breakfast was delicious victorian precinct
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the brydone recently with my children. Room was adequate and I was happy enough for what I paid. Nice and clean. I did find the heater didn't heat the room as warm as I would have liked. They are undergoing some renovations at the moment and it was very noisy from early in the morning. I would have appreciated being told that before I booked as sleep in was non-existent. Hotel staff were very friendly and happy to help in any way if asked. Would stay again for a short stay but probably not with the kids

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank James-Kacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

This is a rambling old hotel that has been extensively modernised. Situated on the main street, it is just a short walk to the Historic Precinct . The carpark out back is free as is the wifi which we managed to get working after a couple of attempts. Our room was a bit on the small side ( had been divided to make room for an ensuite ) , but was adequate. It included tea and coffee making facilities, good TV with two Sky sports channels and Premier movies and the usual freeview channels. The ensuite was modern and had an excellent shower.
The bar ,situated at street level, was well appointed, relaxing ( background music was playing quietly) and offered a reasonable selection of beer and wine.
Our breakfast was nicely cooked with generous portions ; the waiter attentive and pleasant.
This hotel is old, but well kept and possibly would be more favoured by a more mature clientele. It represented very good value for money.

Room tip: The staff are helpful, so express your requirements when booking.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

I was apprehensive about the Brydone after reading the mixed reviews. But our room (jr. suite, in the old section of the hotel) turned out to be roomy, well appointed, updated, with a great bathroom (spa bath, great water pressure in shower). We enjoyed our stay. All of the staff here, at the desk, the housekeepers, and in the bar/restaurant, were incredibly gracious and hospitable. The location is also really convenient for walking around, trying restaurants, and exploring the Victorian District. My only complaint from our experience was the super-slow internet; it can be frustrating when you're trying to make travel plans and it turns into an ordeal.
That being said, when walking around the hotel and seeing other rooms (during housekeeping), not all rooms seem to be as nice as ours. And they are definitely still doing some remodeling at the back end of the hotel. We could not hear this at all from our room, but if you're in a room at the back of the hotel and you like an afternoon rest, you would likely be disturbed by the noise. I'd suggest making a reservation by phone instead of online, just so you can be sure about the location of your room.
Overall,

Room tip: The rooms in the old part of the hotel are likely to be more quiet, until the remodeling is finished.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Suzikawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

Whilst this is not the plushest hotel in the land - it is perfectly acceptable , very clean and without exception staffed by wonderful people . Big shout out to your dear night porter whom looked after us on Friday evening . Soundproofing isn't great but a bit of consideration from other travellers would help ! We have stayed a few times now and keep returning due to staff and proximity to Oamaru's Victorian precinct .

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank vicktikitoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Stayed in a family room as we were travelling with grandchildren, room was good size and good bathroom had everything we needed in 5he room.
The staff are nice nothing was a bother, children are well looked after in the restaurant they have a good children's menu. Would recommend this hotel rooms are nice and a central location.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank laurice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews