We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$180
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
$190
Fully refundable before Thu, 18 Apr
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$144
Fully refundable before Wed, 17 Apr
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
31
34
8
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
31
34
8
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2023

Darren was great as we booked at last minute and then were arriving really late due to cancelled flight. We were rushing to see a very ill elderly mother so were super stressed and Darren was really good to deal with so we were grateful for that. The room was spacious, quiet and had everything we needed. Perfect.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LisaG6241
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2023

Thank you so much everyone at Colonial Lodge who helped ensure our room was ready for early check in on a rainy day after our car broke down. It was so nice to have somewhere warm and dry to shelter for the day. As for the room, everything was spotless. the bed was comfy, and the room was spacious, with a kitchenette that made it easy for us to self-cater. Thank you again.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MoseyAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2022

Colonial Lodge ticked all the boxes—very clean, comfortable bed, big shower with excellent water pressure. But what really sold me was how quiet my unit at the back was. I didn't even need ear plugs and had a great nights sleep.

Room tip: Ask for one of the three back units or bring ear plugs.
Date of stay: February 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank clarebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bella Yang, General Manager at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2022

Hi Clare Thanks so much for your review and rating! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great nights sleep! We look forward to perhaps hosting you again sometime. With best wishes from the Team at Colonial Lodge Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2021

Exceptionaly and wonderfully clean.
Very comfortable
Plenty of space inside and out.
A large and comfortable bed and well appointed throughout
Still not 200 words, what else, Fast internet. Was very quiet and plenty of space to children to play

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stevecapslock
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bella Yang, General Manager at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2021

Hi Steve! Thanks so much for taking time to post your review - we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our facilities and your stay with us!
Your comments are much appreciated and we look forward to perhaps hosting you again sometime! With warm regards from the Team at Colonial Lodge Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2021

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Colonial Lodge Motel, in the northern end of Oamaru, twice in the last month or so. On both occasions I was very impressed by the reception staff who were both friendly and efficient. But this was just the start of what was to be great experiences. The motel facility on both occasions was sparkling clean, yet managing to appear inviting and homely. The rooms I stayed in were well supplied with everything I could need and consumables were of good quality. On my last visit i stayed 2 days and was delighted to find that tea, coffee, and cookies were replaced each morning. The bed was truly luxurious and this word stays as a lasting memory of the whole experience. Thank you to the whole team who create such a nice place to stay.

Room tip: If possible try to book the units at the back of the motel - the rural outlook is most relaxing
Date of stay: March 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill291
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bella Yang, General Manager at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2021

Hi Bill, Thanks so much for your taking time to post your kind review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a pleasure to host you both times. Thank you again for letting us know we're doing things right and we look forward to seeing you again sometime! With best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews