We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
19
31
8
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
31
8
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main road stayed here south island centre of town would stay again great place to stay one night units motel accommodation penguins supermarket cat lounge kitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2017

We booked here for one night to go to the Blue Penguin Colony. Our room was awesome! We had beds to sleep 6 and the bed was very comfortable complete with a heated blanket. We also had the first room next to the road and it was quiet. The owners were wonderful and even gave us some tips for watching the penguins and told us take a blanket from the room to keep warm (which was needed and appreciated). I would definitely recommend this place. There is even a play area for kids which is great if you've been in the car for a while.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RinneyEps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marris B, Manager at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. It makes us happy that you had a great time with us. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Found this place by accident, what a little gem. High standards in cleanliness and hosts extremely helpful. close to the main high street and close to lots of eateries. beds very comfortable and Will definitely use them again

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank alisonsutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

Sadly we only stayed one night. Lovely little place, just off the main road and close to town. If we'd known how comfortable it was, we would have booked for longer.
Very clean, spacious and well equipped. Lovely double bedroom and a single bed in the main room along with a table, chairs and sofa.
We had a warm welcome and were offered milk on arrival. There is a washing machine & tumble dryer for guests use in the laundry room.
Extra heaters should you need them, fresh towels and a kitchenette with everything you might need.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank hippychick66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marris B, Manager at Colonial Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you with us.
Hopeful we will see you again. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

Stopped here by chance was very well greeted and had a nice enjoyable stay also decent supermarket nearby and nice place for a bbq ,bb is provided very friendly and nice and quite with town about five minutes away

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyforde14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

We stayed here as a family and were in a back unit which was very quiet and we enjoyed our stay. My grandchild loved the playground which had everything but all things were worn out like the basketball hoop the lining on the trampoline etc . Also the bed cover had a stain on it . and unit had a lot of dust, cleaning could have been MUCH better. Was quite highly priced , But in saying that it was a great stay, just get these things fixed AND I WOULD RATE IT HIGHLY.

Room tip: Rooms at the back are peaceful
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews