We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$518
Breakfast included
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
24
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
24
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful heritage glorious surroundings katrina brenda tapa luxury comfort property history hosts bed accommodation shower town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2023 via mobile

Our group of 4 had the most wonderful stay at Casa Nova, we could only fit in 1 night on the 4th November and we were treated like royalty from the start with our warm welcome from Brenda (one half of the amazing duo) who is a stunning chef, Gardner, hostess extraordinaire! The home has been brought back to life with beautiful wallpapers and soft furnishings sourced from overseas, antiques and artworks, designing the carpet throughout themselves and each of our 2 rooms paid tribute to its Oamaru heritage. Our beds soooo comfortable that we took note of the make and model. We enjoyed a fabulous tapas meal (cooked by Brenda) at their restaurant 1861 which was the best meal we have had out in ages definitely surpassing where we had eaten in Auckland in the previous 6 months, our wait staff were engaging and had a keen sense of humour! Thank you Brenda and Katrina for having us stay and I hope we can come back again sooon!

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 62Shu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2023

Casa Nova exceeded our already high expectations. The renovation of this grand old house was extraordinary--they really had an eye for design. The bedroom was large and comfortable with a spectacular bathroom. The lounge/breakfast room was spacious. The restaurant was some of the best food we had in New Zealand and the proprietors were warm and friendly. In making reservations, we had vacillated between this and a much more expensive luxury B & B option, and we're so glad we chose Casa Nova. The proprietors also have opened a pub and restaurant in the historic part of the city. We ate dinner one night there and were quite impressed. If we return to Oamaru, we'll definitely be back.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tour55390324435
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2023

Wonderful stay. Glorious surroundings and marvelous hosts! Highly recommend for that special romantic get-away weekend for two. Double bonus is the 1861 restaurant downstairs. Beautiful Tapa style menu!

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2023

This is a special place to stay in a special town. Warm and friendly hosts, exceptional attention to detail, best minibar ever, luxurious bed, linen and towels, superb breakfast, on-site quality restaurant and interesting history. We have no hesitation in recommending Casanova House and are thrilled we were able to stay here. A fabulous experience.

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2023

Casa Nova House is sheer luxury. We thoroughly enjoyed our one night, we should have booked for longer. There is so much to do in and around Oamaru.
The house is beautifully decorated and luxurious. The bed is very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. Katrina provided us with advice on what to see and do in and around Oamaru and dining options. The gardens are well maintained. An excellent choice for accommodation in Oamaru.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank shirleyk735
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews