We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
282
76
10
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
76
10
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath small balcony the main road excellent motel easy walk into town stainless steel ground floor unit thames street flat screen tv appointed rooms south island laundry facilities stayed one night comfortable bed mt cook quiet location separate bedroom
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 376 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Very much enjoyed our stay here. Everything was what I would expect and good location. Would definitely recommend to other travellers. The shower was fantastic and the beds very comfortable. Very tastefully decorated.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TeresaG3474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

The staff was really friendly. Great location, close to town and nearby restaurants and places to see the penguins. Room was well appointed with a comfortable bed and jet bath which was great on a winter day.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apmaddox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighfieldMews, Manager at Highfield Mews, Oamaru, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

thank you so much for great feed back glad you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

We stayed in 'superior double spa suites'. The facilitates were clean and overall well furnished and stocked. The only thing I would say is that it was all a bit basic, the 'nice touches' that set accommodation providers apart from the rest weren't there and would have made all the difference.

The location was a short walk to the town centre so was very convenient.

A tip if you stay more than one night use of laundry facilities is free. I didn't discover this until the second day and so had paid for use of the facilities on the first day - not a big deal however useful to know.

My first impression of the lady on reception was wow - rather 'scratchy'. However, in all fairness she was dealing with a client who just walked up to the counter and expected to be attended to immediately. I just found her interaction with this client rather abrupt and so it put me off a bit. Don't be, she was perfectly pleasant with me the next day when I spoke with her. The gentleman is very friendly and helpful.

Couldn't enter hotel ratings for some reason, so:

> service: 4

> location: 5

> sleep quality: 5

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank lin4197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighfieldMews, Manager at Highfield Mews, Oamaru, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

thank you for your feedback, would love to know what more to the rooms we could add. In this business it is hard to maintain a pleasant happy outlook 24/7 occasionally some people push the buttons.
Once again thank you for your feed back we are always looking to serve better

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

On the highway and doesn't look anything special from the outside.

But wait until you go inside. Friendly reception, even adding a friendly dog for thst home away from home feel.

The rooms are comparable with some of the better hotels I stay in on business trips. The cleanliness and presentation are outstanding.

If staying in Oamaru I have no hesitation in recommending the Highland Mews motel.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighfieldMews, Owner at Highfield Mews, Oamaru, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

thank you for your lovely feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

At first glance, it looks like a typical motel off a busy highway. However, this lodging turned out to be a wonderful, comfortable accommodation. Somebody went through and retrofitted each room to make it as traveler-friendly as possible. Our room had a kitchenette, extremely comfortable bed, spa tub in the bath and tiny balcony. We backed on to the main highway but weren't bothered by any noise during our one night stay. The staff was most gracious as well.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighfieldMews, Owner at Highfield Mews, Oamaru, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

FABULOUS feed back, so glad you liked your stay. its always great to hear the rooms meet the requirements of our guests. Thank you thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews