We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
ZenHotels.com
$198
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Bruce M
Dunedin, New Zealand

Very quiet

Review of Northstar
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Aug 2021
We had a night here recently. The hotel was rmarkably quiet and peacful considering it is attached to a tavern. The room was spacious and well laid out. It had a small kitchette with enough for a cup of tea and breakfast. Very nice.
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $214
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Northstar
Free Wifi
Free parking
One bedroom apartment
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $138
  • Expedia.com
0.2 km from Northstar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $216
  • Hotels.com
2.4 km from Northstar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $201
  • Booking.com
2.4 km from Northstar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $172
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Northstar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $229
  • Hotels.com
3.0 km from Northstar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $216
  • Hotels.com
2.7 km from Northstar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $138
  • Hotels.com
2.5 km from Northstar
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Brydone Hotel
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $185
  • Hotels.com
3.3 km from Northstar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    $85
  • ZenHotels.com
3.5 km from Northstar
Free parking
View more hotels in Oamaru
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
67
39
10
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
67
39
10
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews upstairs room checking in car parking roomy kitchenette motel unit tidy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2021

I stayed a night on the way to Dunedin. The staff were so easy to communicate with. Booking was easy. The unit was well equipped and spacious with a settee and two lounge chairs but the heating was poor. There was no heating in the bathroom and the room had a small panel heater which took ages to warm up. How could you build a motel in Oamaru without bathroom under floor heating and a heat pump. Take plenty of warm clothes. There is good parking and its clean and comfortable if a little on the chilly side

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank gemido
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2020

We Loved our stay at the Northstar Motel.
The rooms are very spacious, clean and modern.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful.
Location is good, and there plenty of parking spaces.
Thank you from the Doherty family.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DohertyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

We recently spent two nights here. The room was large enough that we weren’t tripping over each other. There is a huge bathroom/changing area. The kitchen is well appointed with an added bonus of a coffee machine. The shower is huge and has amazing pressure. The bed was a little firmer than we are used to but still comfy. The only down side was from children running around in the room above us, going to sleep solved that. And a couple of spare pillows would be great.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jodez70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2020

This motel has the friendliest, most helpful receptionists I've ever come across! My husband and I had the pleasure of staying for 3 nights in December and loved it! We hadn't planned on visiting Oamaru, until we discovered that heavy rain had forced road closures on our drive to Christchurch. We came across Northstar purely by accident, and were greeted with the warmest of welcome's by Shirley, and Jill looked after us during our evening meal later that day. They both have so much local knowledge, which we used to our advantage, and after extending our stay due to the on-going road issues, we had the most fabulous stay in the motel and Oamaru!
The room itself was spacious, lovely and clean, with everything we needed. Comfy bed and pillows, and a peaceful environment all contributed to 3 nights of blissful sleep.
We ate in the restaurant twice, and enjoyed the food very much. The bar staff were lovely too!
Everything about our unexpected trip was amazing, and we're already looking forward to our next visit in 2022. Thank you all for making our stay so special, memorable. It was certainly one of our favourite places in New Zealand!

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 November 2019

Spent 2 nights here for a motorbike club AGM so we had a meeting room available for our use and also a restaurant for a formal dinner but also a great bar for a smaller meal if we prefer, which we did on the Friday evening. Bar snacks were excellent and so was the buffet dinner we had as the formal part of the Saturday evening.

Room tip: Any room is good as they are set back from the road.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews