We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
149
56
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
56
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky channels the main road meal delivery the double glazed windows comfortable stay little touches no vacancy comfy bed free wifi bedroom unit quiet place to stay definately stay here road trip enjoyed our stay comfortable place small kitchen spa bath
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

Amazing welcome great room and perfect location. I needed somewhere to stay after arriving late to visit family in hospital Looked on TripAdvisor and drove in to the Oamaru motor lodge around 8pm. Tired and hungry. Manager was so great after showing me to my room he put the heater and lights on and advised me of the in room meal delivery service from Fat Sally restaurant. So ordered a fantastic dinner delivered in under 30 mins. Room was warm and quiet and spotlessly clean Stayed two night and will book again. Thankyou so much perfect haven after a tough day

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank KCBC-Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzzieservice, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Hello. Thank you very much for the very kind review. It was a pleasure hosting you on both occasions and we hope to see you again under improved circumstances. Cheers. Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

We stayed here for one night on our way up from Invercargill. The unit had two bedrooms, one with a king size bed and the other with 3 single beds. We were 3 adults and a little dog. There was plenty of space for all of us.

The unit was well back from the road and was quiet. It had a very good living area and was well decorated. The two couches were placed so you could actually see the tv. There was a table for dining which you could pull out and also watch the tv.

From memory it also had good Sky channels, not just the Freeview stuff that most motels seem to have. Not totally sure on this one.

The bathroom was big and spacious. The kitchen was also well stocked. The whole place was super clean.

We paid when we checked in so we could just go when we felt like it in the morning.

We got our dinner from the Malaysian over the road which meant we didn't need to use the car.

We would definitely stay here again even without the dog.

The lady on reception was very friendly and helpful.

Room tip: Get a room that is back from the road as this is quieter.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzzieservice, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Hello Linda F. Thank you very much for the very kind review. A great way to start a day! That unit type is spacious and fully equipped. Yes, we do have 50+ plus sky channels on two TV's in the suite you stayed in, plus record, rewind and pause functions. All the comforts of home. Thanks for staying and again for the lovely review. Cheers. Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

What a fabulous host. We had some guests staying here for work and wanted a gift delivered to them.. I couldn't find anything in Oamaru and wanted something asap (given it was a Friday night and I am based in Wellington I was very limited on options) So I called and asked the owner for advice.. They asked what I was after, went out, bought all the items I was after and gift wrapped the basket for me.. all for no extra charge. Absolutely Above and beyond. Super friendly and helpful and I cannot thank them enough. It was the perfect acommodation for our staff and they even let them bring their small pet. Thank you so much Colin & Jude!!!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabethbaker2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzzieservice, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Awe, what a lovely review. Great way to start the day! Thank you very much. It was a pleasure to host your people. We have learnt as next time I think we could do the same thing for 20 bucks cheaper and have the same impact! Thanks again for the review. Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

We had to come to Oamaru at very short notice. Rang ahead and queried what sort of pets we could bring. We have a boxer dog so not the smallest pet.
This was accepted by the motor lodge and we made a booking for a few nights.
Very tidy units with free wifi and king size beds.
Could not ask for better.
Charge back and delivery of evening meals is possible.
The motel staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

Highly recommended place to put your head down.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 1960WarrenW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzzieservice, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2018

Hello Warren. Thanks very much for the kind review which is much appreciated. Cheers. Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

The room we had in Oamaru Motor Lodge was clean and modern and the whole of the establishment is well tended by its welcoming owners. We used the washing facilities which were great and wished we had had more time to look around the old part of the town which looked interesting.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DeeWhy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzzieservice, Owner at Oamaru Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Hello. Thanks for the kind review. The Heritage area of Oamaru is very interesting and well worth the visit. Call again!! Cheers. Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews