We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
rawill
Invercargill, New Zealand

Great place. And quiet for a place on the main Street.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Sept 2019via mobile
Great price, great room, nicely upgraded, double glazing. Friendly staff.

Booked to come back in two weeks.
Oamaru is a good place to stop overnight on a trip to Christchuch.

We are always trying to find a quiet place to stay, with a sunny aspect.
This place has that.
Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
inside courtyard
$213
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $220
0.1 km from AAA Thames Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$91
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.6 km from AAA Thames Court Motel
Free parking
The Brydone Hotel
$188
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    $162
  • Priceline
1.0 km from AAA Thames Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$115
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $115
  • Vio.com
1.7 km from AAA Thames Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
One bedroom apartment
$180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    $149
  • Priceline
2.5 km from AAA Thames Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $231
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from AAA Thames Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $180
  • Hotels.com
    $176
  • Priceline
0.2 km from AAA Thames Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $165
  • Hotels.com
    $162
  • Priceline
1.0 km from AAA Thames Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $145
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $157
1.1 km from AAA Thames Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $125
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $125
0.2 km from AAA Thames Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Oamaru
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
80
74
9
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
80
74
9
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen within walking distance penguin colony unit motel town takeaway studio roomy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2019

Stayed two nights and found our ground floor studio unit spacious, clean, comfortable and extremely well-appointed. Although motel is on the main highway, the double glazing ensured a quiet night with minimal road noise and we enjoyed good sleeps.
Manager friendly and helpful. Motel close to the centre of the town, with plenty of eateries at hand.
Would certainly stay at Thames Court again on any future visits to Oamaru.
Highly recommended.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenice2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights, rooms large and comfortable, and quiet too given it’s proximity to the main highway. The room was very clean with good facilities, a short stroll into town and the Victorian area, manager very welcoming and helpful, really recommend this place.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank staplesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2019 via mobile

We had a unit with two rooms that perfectly suited our family of four for a stop over.

Well appointed. We appreciated the comfortable beds and had enough room to put up our portacot. I had the best night sleep I’ve had in a week. We appreciated the kitchen to store our food overnight and appreciated the plates and cutlery for our takeaway dinner at the table. Enjoyed hot showers after being on the road.

Nice touch with the cute surfing art on the wall.

We give it a 5/5 not because it’s a “5 Star Hotel” but because it met our needs, was comfortable and clean, moderately updated, quiet and we experienced friendly and helpful service. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

To the few people who gave poor reviews about road noise- that’s going to be expected when you travel and stay at small town motels which are almost all situated on the main roads. Be prepared. We always run a sound machine /white noise and have ear plugs. If you want a silent hotel, stay in a secluded b&b or fancy hotel in a major city. But in that note, we personally didn’t experience any road noise three rooms from the road. 😁

Thank you for the nice stay. We are refreshed for our drive back home. 🙌🏼

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank KarakiaKitKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2018

We stayed for 5 nights, very friendly and helpful staff. Very clean and the self contained units are great place to use as a your base station for exploring the wonderful area around Oamaru. Windows are double glazed so noise in at a minimum which was great as we were travelling with an 8 month old.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Had unit 8, a one bedroom unit, was lovely and clean, had everything we needed, slightly larger coffee cups would have been nice, but Im used to larger mugs. Unit was quite warm with heater going but heater slightly noisy but room stayed warm with heater turned off. Water pressure in shower was lacking for washing long hair but enough for a simple wash. Room was a little noisy with road noise, but we live rural so not used to SH1 traffic. Very basic TV channels.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank freedreamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews