We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Staplesb
London

Great place well located

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Feb 2019via mobile
Stayed here for two nights, rooms large and comfortable, and quiet too given it’s proximity to the main highway. The room was very clean with good facilities, a short stroll into town and the Victorian area, manager very welcoming and helpful, really recommend this place.
Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
inside courtyard
$165
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $165
0.1 km from AAA Thames Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$166
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from AAA Thames Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$125
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $125
0.2 km from AAA Thames Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$161
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from AAA Thames Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$152
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $152
1.1 km from AAA Thames Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Brydone Hotel
$157
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from AAA Thames Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$130
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from AAA Thames Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
One bedroom apartment
$168
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $168
2.5 km from AAA Thames Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio - Queen & Single
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $145
  • Algotels
0.5 km from AAA Thames Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $281
  • eDreams
2.3 km from AAA Thames Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Oamaru
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
80
74
9
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
80
74
9
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen within walking distance penguin colony unit motel town takeaway studio roomy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2019 via mobile

We had a unit with two rooms that perfectly suited our family of four for a stop over.

Well appointed. We appreciated the comfortable beds and had enough room to put up our portacot. I had the best night sleep I’ve had in a week. We appreciated the kitchen to store our food overnight and appreciated the plates and cutlery for our takeaway dinner at the table. Enjoyed hot showers after being on the road.

Nice touch with the cute surfing art on the wall.

We give it a 5/5 not because it’s a “5 Star Hotel” but because it met our needs, was comfortable and clean, moderately updated, quiet and we experienced friendly and helpful service. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

To the few people who gave poor reviews about road noise- that’s going to be expected when you travel and stay at small town motels which are almost all situated on the main roads. Be prepared. We always run a sound machine /white noise and have ear plugs. If you want a silent hotel, stay in a secluded b&b or fancy hotel in a major city. But in that note, we personally didn’t experience any road noise three rooms from the road. 😁

Thank you for the nice stay. We are refreshed for our drive back home. 🙌🏼

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank KarakiaKitKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2018

We stayed for 5 nights, very friendly and helpful staff. Very clean and the self contained units are great place to use as a your base station for exploring the wonderful area around Oamaru. Windows are double glazed so noise in at a minimum which was great as we were travelling with an 8 month old.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Had unit 8, a one bedroom unit, was lovely and clean, had everything we needed, slightly larger coffee cups would have been nice, but Im used to larger mugs. Unit was quite warm with heater going but heater slightly noisy but room stayed warm with heater turned off. Water pressure in shower was lacking for washing long hair but enough for a simple wash. Room was a little noisy with road noise, but we live rural so not used to SH1 traffic. Very basic TV channels.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank freedreamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 July 2018

We stayed here for three nights from 25th July in the King Bed Room. The property has been refurbished to a high standard and the rooms are amazing. We arrived late at night and the heater had been put on in our room, as it was pretty cold outside, so it was lovely to walk into. Our unit was spacious, modern and very, very clean. Walking distance to a lovely Thai Restaurant down the road and going into town is walkable if you are keen. Would highly recommend this property to anyone - good rooms and the nightly rate is very good.

Room tip: All rooms are on one level, so no stairs to have to cope with.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank smith0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 July 2018

Have not stayed at this motel before ,but it was a very good find, recently refurbished ,spacious studio unit,very clean, good bed, nice crisp linen, and good owners.Good Chinese place, Golden Panda across street.For a nice clean warm stopover you cannot do better.We will be back.

Date of stay: June 2018
1  Thank travelpro5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews