We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
llipp765598
Christchurch, New Zealand

Unacceptable

Review of The Mill House
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Jun 2023
We were able to book, and receive confirmation for our stay. Unfortunately when we arrived at the Mill House at 8pm in the evening the property was in darkness and no-one around. A note on the door directed us to make contact with another accommodation provider, who was fortunately able to accommodate us. This experience turned an anticipated night away into a stressful experience. It also meant that we missed our dinner reservation and ended up needing to get takeaways in Oamaru.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $193
  • Hotels.com
22.5 km from The Mill House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $173
  • Hotels.com
23.1 km from The Mill House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $123
  • Hotels.com
23.0 km from The Mill House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio - Queen & Single
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $186
  • Hotels.com
23.7 km from The Mill House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family 2 bedroom Apartment
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $135
  • Hotels.com
23.1 km from The Mill House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $165
  • Hotels.com
24.2 km from The Mill House
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Brydone Hotel
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $172
  • Hotels.com
22.2 km from The Mill House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $213
  • eDreams
25.4 km from The Mill House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $123
  • Hotels.com
23.0 km from The Mill House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $145
  • Hotels.com
25.6 km from The Mill House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Oamaru
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
29
12
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
29
12
3
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2023

We reserved months in advance. Upon arriving, we found the place empty and a CLOSED sign on the door. We followed the instructions on the sign and went to the other establishment... only to find that there were no rooms there either. The owner ended up putting us in an empty old house. He then came in and wrenched on the hot water heater for a while until he got the hot water running. I asked him if we could get some bottled water. Nope. We arrived in the evening, expecting a hotel with a restaurant and other ammenities (bottled water, etc). We had 2 hungry kids and nowhere for miles to get food. When the Mill House was closed, the owner should've called us. He did not. He could've emailed us. He did not. He could've reached us through the booking agent. He did not. We arrived in the early evening and left at dawn. The owner offered no compensation. We did receive a refund through the booking agent.

Room tip: Call ahead to make sure they're open for business and you don't get the bait-and-switch as I did.
Date of stay: December 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank VV_SantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2021

Can't speak highly enough of Malcom and our stay here, highly recommended. Fantastic easy location for us to dip in and out of Oamaru and Moeraki, and all the lovely eateries. The lodge is gorgeous, welcoming and comfortable, and the gardens just so beautiful, and the riverside is the icing on the cake! - a lovely wee haven with everything you need, we'll be back for sure.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Margarets_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 February 2020

Christchurch to Dunedin is quite a drive - pays to take a rest stop and the Mill House is the perfect 90minutes out stopover. A passion for its owners the old girl is coming back into play gracefully in its tranquil setting just south of Herbert.
And the additional good news is a magnificent brunch can be had with Fleur at the stunning little village of Moeraki 15 minutes south. Do both and enjoy a well-rested arrival in Dunedin an hour later.

Date of stay: February 2020
2  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2019

Usually, we never put 2 opinions for the same place but “usually” is not the word we use for the mill house :-)
I’ve been there two years ago and I ve met a wonderful host with a wonderful house.
I came back 2 weeks ago and I found a wonderful friend.
I m explaining : I was just arrived in NZ and I met a problem with my rental car. I have crashed the bumper which was to almost fall down if I carried on.
It was Sunday and I had to find a good mechanic to help me as soon as possible.
As I told him that, he left one minute and came back with some tools.
In less than 10 mn, he repairs the car as a magician and I could carry on my trip quietly.
Without asking him anything, he really helped me as a good friend and I ve really appreciated it. Naturally and so nice :-)

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gasse T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

Lovely spot, quiet, very welcoming proprietor and nothing a problem. Rooms very clean and comfortable, highly recommend if travelling south or north, or for a break away. Near river, tracks, Moeraki and 20 mins from Oamaru

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Cosydell11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews