We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Trip.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
chchtravellers

Character and pleasant surroundings

Review of The Mill House
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Jan 2018via mobile
We stopped here for a night on our way south. Friendly service. The room was very good - clean tidy and comfortable. Nice gardens and outlook over the river and historic bridge. We’re already booked in for our next night. Cheers.
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$518
  • Expedia.com
    $457
  • Hotels.com
    $486
  • Tripadvisor
    $457
20.9 km from The Mill House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$91
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
21.7 km from The Mill House
Free parking
Booking.com
$284
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $210
  • Hotels.com
    $226
22.5 km from The Mill House
Free Wifi
Free parking
inside courtyard
Booking.com
$207
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $214
  • Expedia.com
    $202
  • Priceline
23.1 km from The Mill House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$135
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $140
  • Agoda.com
    $118
  • Expedia.com
    $136
23.0 km from The Mill House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio - Queen & Single
Booking.com
$178
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $178
  • Agoda.com
    $152
  • Priceline
23.7 km from The Mill House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$215
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $211
  • Agoda.com
    $202
  • Priceline
24.2 km from The Mill House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family 2 bedroom Apartment
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $135
  • Expedia.com
    $126
  • Priceline
23.1 km from The Mill House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$140
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $131
  • Expedia.com
    $138
23.0 km from The Mill House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$151
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $145
  • Agoda.com
    $121
  • Hotels.com
    $165
25.6 km from The Mill House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Oamaru
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
29
12
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
29
12
3
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed one night at The Mill House and was very pleasant surprised. The rooms were spacious and clean, the coffee was good and the reception really helped us with suggestions on what to do and when. The location was perfect for our needs, we went to the Moeraki boulders at sunset and got suggestions on how to penguins and other wildlife. We saw 2! yellow eyed penguins and numerous of seals. They had a really nice garden too.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 November 2017

9 of us stayed here for our Field trip at Labour Weekend at the end of October and we had the best time. The rooms were super comfortable and clean. We found the breakfast room so convenient and the service for anything at all we needed was attended to immediately. We thoroughly enjoyed the lounge in the evenings being able to share our experiences over the day. Just down the road to Hampden for good food and of course the Boulders are just beyond there. Definitely recommend this place as a special place to stay.

Room tip: 4 of the bedrooms in the Lodge are Queen rooms and the other is a twin. 4 motel units in the garden.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ColleenLinnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

My partner booked this and he did well. Old converted Mill with historic bridge nearby. Lovely room and spacious common room area for reading and relaxing. Close to Oamaru and Moeraki. I would definitely stay here again

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 68skp70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Great Accommodation, facilities in the rooms was exceptional clean and fresh. Gardens had picturesque surrounding front and rear. wished we could of stayed longer. Owner very friendly and helpful. Smith & Jones OZ

Date of stay: April 2017
1  Thank alisonsT7046SS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2017

The fantastic accommodation, clean, with all facilities and helpful staff. Located by the road but very quiet. Not far from the Moeraki builders and the city of Oamaru. The accommodation is surrounded with nature and you can see a very special bridge just behind the fence. Free Internet is also an advantage.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hoshem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews