We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bloody amazing”

Bagout Tuna Fishing Charters
Ranked #14 of 20 things to do in Portland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Bagout Charters runs specialist fishing tours throughout the year targeting fishing in Port Phillip Bay, Western Port and Portland. The boat leaves from Carrum Boat Ramp, Portland Boat Ramp or Hastings Boat Ramp and our charters run 3 times daily from 5am to 8pm each day except for tuna charters which leave at dawn and are a full day charter.
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

The perfect fishing trip. We caught a 108kg tuna on day 1 then bagged out on the last day. Steve and Jason were great. Everything was organised for us including accommodation. We have already booked the next trip.

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank Vito B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

2 - 6 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2017

Joined the Bagout $350 nine hour tuna fishing charter out of Portland. Met at the boat ramp and once underway, the skipper insults two young German tourist by saying "heil Hitler" and then states that there will be no speaking German on board as "you might be speaking about me"......... Great way to encourage tourism, maybe he should advertise "English speakers only".

Leaving the harbour, we were given a safety briefing. This outlined where to sit and what to do if anyone fell overboard. The skipper then pointed to the closed cuddy cabin and rattled off the safety gear which it contained. Not to worry, if anything happens the skipper and deck hand would issue it out accordingly. No demonstration however, of how to wear or operate a life vest in case of emergency.

The next instructions addressed the toilet facilities on board….. There are none! Now remember that there are seven men and one woman on board for a nine hour charter. So the skipper instructs the men to urinate over the stern and if the lady wants to go, he’ll get a bucket and she can use it in the half cabin! Not surprising, she didn’t for the whole trip.

Tuna fishing consists of trawling with trailing lures until a fish strikes. So until that happens, customers can either stand toward the stern or sit on two large cool boxes. The cool boxes are made of hard plastic and believe me they become extremely uncomfortable especially when the time between fish strikes was measured in hours. Bagout may want to invest in some cushions in the future.

Finally, the deck hand constantly smoked. Not that the smoke bothered me as it was windy however, tossing his cigarette butts into the ocean did.

To summarise, although we did catch 7 tuna, the total lack of professionalism and facilities, coupled to insufficient safety instruction and an obnoxious crew, I would give Bagout a wide berth.

Date of experience: June 2017
14  Thank 122geoff45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

Went out with steve and ash on monday was an exciting morning catching a gummy about 178cm if i recall correctly was definitely worth doing

Date of experience: January 2016
2  Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen E, General Manager at Bagout Tuna Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Thanks Kris, a reasonable size Gummy. Nice work

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

was very keen to catch Snapper, Steve sounded out every spot we went too took awhile but once he found them we where on!! Got 2 3kg Snapper and Steve's set up was fantastic no tangles, great selection of bait and quality gear. Been on a few Charters and most have there spots, sit you there and couldn't care less if you catch anything and move on to the next spot, but Steve search for the fish so we where in with a better chance to take fish home and we did!!! Thanks guys will be seeing you again soon.

Date of experience: November 2015
1  Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen E, Manager at Bagout Tuna Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Hi Phil, great review. keep them coming!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile

The crew got us onto the fish, with good gear and great bait. They do most of the work, which avoids tangled lines (and is fine for a 4 hour charter). All 5 of us caught a snapper (4 were over 2').

Date of experience: November 2015
1  Thank SteveT478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen E, Manager at Bagout Tuna Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Thanks Steve. Keep fishing and searching for those 11Kg Snapper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bagout Tuna Fishing Charters also viewed

 

Been to Bagout Tuna Fishing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing