We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER”

Aromas Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 61 Restaurants in Kaikoura
Cuisines: Chinese, Minority Chinese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 January 2018

As this town was still recovering from the earthquake, we expected that eating houses would be limited. From the street view this restuarant did not look appealing owing to excess furniture stored at the back and an assortment of seating. A girl with a very pleasant attitude took our order which was served very promptly and hot. The server was very knowledgeable about local attractions. As we were eating our second course a young man who appeared to be the manager, approached and inquired if we were happy with the meal and the service , which we were.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnY7566XH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2017

If you have any respect for yourself, don't eat here. Paid $25 and waited nearly an hour for a small scoop of mystery meat covered in a strange transparent white sauce that I'm convinced was just cornflour mixed with water. It literally did not taste of anything except a hint of sugar. 5 hours later and I am on the toilet with hot liquid (that I'm sure probably tastes better than whatever the hell I was serviced at Aromas) squirting out both ends. Even if nothing else is open in the whole town, starving is a better option than eating here. Would give 0 stars if it were a possibility.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank MayaC714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Went to this restaurant last week for a take away.Wasn't much of a takeaway as there was very little food.
This place is WELL over priced for their food.Not only was it a very small portion but it was also luke warm.I will NOT be going back!!!!

4  Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jianjiachen, Manager at Aromas Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Hi Bob. Thank you for your feedback. As our restaurant is located in this tourist town. Cost of food is higher than other city because of freight and other factors. Hope you can understand our pricing. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

The cray fish was greasy and not worth the cost. The sweet and sour pork inedible. All that for a rather high price.

1  Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jianjiachen, Manager at Aromas Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Hi Marc.Thank you for feedback. I apologize for the dishes you got. You can notice our staff when you got those dishes. We will replace dishes or return money if customers got dishes in bad condition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Pickled fish and cabbage quite the tastiest dish with veg fried rice a perfect end to a fab day. Shared between 2.
Price a bit steep but then there is a service charge.
Easy to find near the top 10 site. A short walk and over the roads and near the corner.
Lovely helpful lassie serving us food out and cooked in a thrice.

Thank jill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jianjiachen, Manager at Aromas Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Hi. Thanks for your feedback. We always try our best to deliver delicious food and excellent service. Hope you got a nice stay in Kaikoura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aromas Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Aromas Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing