We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So creamy”

Poppy's Handmade Ice Cream Parlour & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$14
Description: We offer an all day menu of delicious meals, to dine in or take away. We also have cabinet food also with a wide range of lasagne, frittatas, tarts, fresh salads, dessert options and amazing locally brewed coffee. But best of all is our Handmade luscious creamy ice cream made on sight, full of natural ingredients lovingly made by Poppy and the popettes. Come in and try some of our delicious flavours. We look forward to your visitl
Restaurant details
Description: We offer an all day menu of delicious meals, to dine in or take away. We also have cabinet food also with a wide range of lasagne, frittatas, tarts, fresh salads, dessert options and amazing locally brewed coffee. But best of all is our Handmade luscious creamy ice cream made on sight, full of natural ingredients lovingly made by Poppy and the popettes. Come in and try some of our delicious flavours. We look forward to your visitl
Reviewed 9 November 2018

We went for the ice cream and not hard to see why it is so popular. Selection hard as has been noted. Had the hokey-pokey and the raspberry. Just delicious. Just go.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gr_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed the passionfruit curd ice-cream, even though I am not really a great fan of ice-cream. The most difficult part though was actually choosing a flavour - it was so yummy that perhaps we’ll have to go back to try out the others!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank DeeJay132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

There was a good choice of ice cream. I had berry sorbet which was lovely. Nothing like an ice cream on a warm day. Thoroughly worth a visit.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Popped in for an ice cream towards the end of the day (next door wasn't as appetizing) and was not disappointed!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ElizabethC5477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

The best food and Ice Cream to be had in Kaikoura! Poppy and the team always make you feel welcomed like you are family. I’ve been more times than I can count and can honestly say I’ve never had a bad Ice Cream or Meal. If you want a bite to eat, a substantial meal or a yummy ice cream you simply can’t go wrong!
Thanks so much Poppy for the great laughs and really cheering myself and my partner up after many long days at work :)

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank bm4887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poppy's Handmade Ice Cream Parlour & Cafe also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Poppy's Handmade Ice Cream Parlour & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing