We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Discover604758

Conveniently located and very attentive hosts.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 May 2024
We spent three days in this beautiful location. From our room we had a fantastic view over the sea and the beautifully maintained garden. Kaikoura with its shops and restaurants can be reached easily with a short walk. Breakfast was delicious, especially the freshly prepared fruit salat, and the conversations at the table with other guests well appreciated. Julie and Kerry are very friendly and attentive hosts. Kerry drove us to the starting point of the Peninsula Walkway, so that we could fully enjoy the view from the cliffs on our way back to Kaikoura. Thank you Julie and Kerry!
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The Fairways luxury accommodation in Kaikoura, near the beach, at dusk
$174
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $174
3.2 km from Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
$160
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $160
0.8 km from Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
$144
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
$104
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $169
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $94
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
Free parking
Pool
Perfect waterfront location
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $158
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
Free parking
Beachfront
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    $112
  • eDreams
2.4 km from Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $109
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $225
  • Priceline
4.6 km from Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kaikoura
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
180
51
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
180
51
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade shortbread ham and cheese croissant first floor stunning views other guests each morning comfortable bed wonderful hosts a great stay kerry julie sea mountains bay town balcony christchurch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2024

We stayed for one night only, breaking our train journey from Picton to Christchurch, but we were very glad that we stayed at Bendamere House. Our room was spotlessly clean, and comfortbale. The bed was a little soft for our liking, but that can not be helped. Breakfast was excellent, as was Julie the host.
It was a very easy, and short, walk down in to the town of Kaikoura, but back at Bendamere, with it's lovely views of the ocean, and lovely peaceful garden, it felt like the rest of the world was miles away.
Highly recommended as a place to stay.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spenceleysUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2024 via mobile

Stayed here on our trip through New Zealand. Well located for access to the main high street of Kaikoura, this is a lovely property with excellent views of the sea from our balcony. We had an upstairs room which was extremely comfortable. The buffet breakfast was good and Julie a lovely host. Happy to recommend.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank christophers608
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2024 via mobile

Among the best accommodation we have stayed in in New Zealand.

We had an upstairs room boasting a beautiful view of the gardens and bay framed by the Kaikōura ranges. I couldn’t stop drinking in the view from the balcony in the changing light.

The room was beautifully decorated with comfy beds. Goes without saying it was spotlessly clean, but added extras included lovely fluffy robes and delicious homemade lemon shortbread. Breakfast was good with fresh fruit and granola followed by hot cheese & bacon croissant. Nice to chat with fellow travellers and share information & travel tips.

Talking of travel tips, Julie gave us worthwhile information around where to eat and the best place to see the seals. We had a fantastic walk with the best views of the seals and their pups.

Wish we could have stayed longer. Ps - take the AirKaikoura 40 minute whale watching flight - brilliant - & no more money than the packed whale watching boat.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Safari34618671214
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2024

This is B and B accommodation at its best. The room (for a family of three) was immaculate and had everything you could need. The property is lovingly maintained by the owners Kerry and Julie, who were also first class hosts. Friendly and helpful but never intruding on your time. The gardens are beautiful with a stunning view and the perfect place to relax. The property is very well situated in town but with a feeling of being far enough away from the hustle and bustle that meant you could return each evening and relax. All in all the best B and B I have ever encountered. In fact far better than many of the hotels I have stayed in.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank richardwT6442LI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 October 2023

Fantastic sea view room looking over the pleasant gardens and sea. Clean, tidy and comfortable bed. Used the balcony for the last of the sun. Breakfast filling and Julie kept us entertained with memories of years gone by and the dramatic events from the earthquake

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews