We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Whale Watching Flight in Kaikoura
176

Book in advance
from
$225.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Wings Over Whales
from $225.00
More Info
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveller rating
569
52
13
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
569
52
13
14
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 654 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2023 via mobile

It is really hard to put this flight into words.
We were really lucky to see three whales in one go.
As Whale Watching is the thing here in Kaikoura all vendors here use an open channel to broadcast whale sightings and Wings over Whales times the flights according to whales coming up for air.
Our Pilot started of with a quick look over some dolphins when she steered off to the whales.
We had the luck to see a blue whale first and than two sperm whales.
You have to be patient, but trust the pilots, they know what they are doing.
We were rewarded with a one hour flight, three whales sighted and hundreds of dolphins.

Thank St80249
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wingsoverwhales1, Front Office Manager at Wings Over Whales, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2023

Thanks for you review, always a pleasure :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2023

Buyer beware. The whale watch experience is only valuable if you see whales. We saw none, and there was no refund.

Date of experience: February 2023
Thank Anonymous33900
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wingsoverwhales1, Front Office Manager at Wings Over Whales, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2023

Thank you for taking the time to review. We are sorry you felt your experience was not valuable. We take pride in providing a high level of service and have a high success rate in viewing the whales, however they are in their natural environment and as such we can never guarantee to see them. Kaikoura offers viewing of many other wildlife as well as breath taking scenery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2023

Great staff and flight. Gutted no whales to see. Felt like we wasted our money a little bit although the ocean vies were spectacular.

Date of experience: February 2023
Thank Cassie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wingsoverwhales1, Front Office Manager at Wings Over Whales, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2023

Hi Cassie, thank you for taking the time to review. We are glad you enjoyed our staff and the beautiful scenic flight. It was unfortunate not to see whales on your trip, however, we do offer a discount for second time flyers and hope to see you back again one day to try again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2023

Loved this experience. Got to see some humpback whales and massive pods of dolphins, as well as beautiful scenery. All the staff here were so wonderful (especially Billy <3) - truly a day I will never forget. Our pilot was excellent, extremely knowledgable and funny. Made sure everyone got a good view of the whales. The plane itself is also perfect because everyone gets a window seat! Couldn't recommend more. Managed to get some really beautiful videos.

Date of experience: January 2023
Thank HannahWillyWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wingsoverwhales1, Front Office Manager at Wings Over Whales, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2023

Thank you so much for your review! This makes us super happy you had a great time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2023 via mobile

Absolutely incredible experience! The pilots and staff are absolutely awesome, really friendly, warm, and welcoming.

Was lucky enough to witness a sperm whale surfacing & then to see it dive, which was a really beautiful moment!

Thanks so much guys, you're an awesome team & I'll remember this flight forever!

Thank Passport23239228000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews