We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Whale Watching Flight in Kaikoura
175

Book in advance
from
$225.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Wings Over Whales
from $225.00
More Info
Reviews (653)
Filter reviews
653 results
Traveller rating
568
52
13
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
568
52
13
14
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 653 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2021

A great experience Great professional staff
Great communication with the way the weather was on Saturday

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Q1050JFallant
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 July 2021

We watched the weather as well and nailed it. Just the four of us on the plane with a professional and fun crew who love what they do. Best experience for a long time and well worth the money. The kids banked it as the best experience yet.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank c0ffee4mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 July 2021

We went on this flight as the boat trip we were booked on was cancelled due to rough seas. All the staff were great and once in the plane we soon found a sperm whale on the surface. We found 3 sperm whales and 2 humpback whales along with loads of seals. Definitely the best way to see whales.
We rebooked the boat trip for the day after, we saw 2 sperm whales and nothing else apart from sea birds.
To me the plane trip was 10 times better than the boat trip.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank Simon071
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 July 2021

Great flight with a knowledgeable pilot and spotted 3 whales all of which hung around for their allotted time. Took many photos, with the pilot offering everyone plenty of opportunity to get good shots in. Other aircraft and a helo in the mix was interesting too . Whilst the experience was really neat just made me feel that I wanted to get even closer, so hopefully our Whale Watch will provide that opportunity.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank PaulD17230
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2021

We were hoping to see whales and we were lucky enough to see 4 sperm whales for up to 1 minute each before they dive into the deep. The pilot was very professional, friendly and knowledgeable. After we saw the whales we had a tour around the peninsula.

Main thing to note for future travelers is to manage your expectations, the advertising is a bit misleading in what your experience will be. I’ve seen the big whale posters and was hoping to see exactly the same thing. What I didn’t realize is:
- A 10-20 meter whale seen from 300 meters above will still seem like a small fish, so don’t expect to see too many details except the whale’s back and tail as they dive
- Sperm whales dive for 45mins (according to our pilot guide) and surface for air, then they go down again. So you’ll get to see them for a short time before they go down. It’s quite amazing that the whale watching boat tours even see anything.

I wouldn’t opt to do it again if I had a choice to be honest.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank horatiup275
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews