We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Whale Watching Flight in Kaikoura
176

Book in advance
from
$225.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Wings Over Whales
from $225.00
More Info
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveller rating
569
52
13
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
569
52
13
14
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 654 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2021

Great flight with a knowledgeable pilot and spotted 3 whales all of which hung around for their allotted time. Took many photos, with the pilot offering everyone plenty of opportunity to get good shots in. Other aircraft and a helo in the mix was interesting too . Whilst the experience was really neat just made me feel that I wanted to get even closer, so hopefully our Whale Watch will provide that opportunity.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank PaulD17230
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2021

We were hoping to see whales and we were lucky enough to see 4 sperm whales for up to 1 minute each before they dive into the deep. The pilot was very professional, friendly and knowledgeable. After we saw the whales we had a tour around the peninsula.

Main thing to note for future travelers is to manage your expectations, the advertising is a bit misleading in what your experience will be. I’ve seen the big whale posters and was hoping to see exactly the same thing. What I didn’t realize is:
- A 10-20 meter whale seen from 300 meters above will still seem like a small fish, so don’t expect to see too many details except the whale’s back and tail as they dive
- Sperm whales dive for 45mins (according to our pilot guide) and surface for air, then they go down again. So you’ll get to see them for a short time before they go down. It’s quite amazing that the whale watching boat tours even see anything.

I wouldn’t opt to do it again if I had a choice to be honest.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank horatiup275
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2021

We saw 5 whales!! Our pilot Mike was excellent, very knowledgeable and with good sense of humor. Can't be happier with our trip!

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank VivienneL164
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2021 via mobile

Excellent professional service
Our pilot Emily was full of information throughout the experience spotting 2 whales and sharing her knowledge
Memorable experience, do it

Thank brentb757
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 June 2021

Saw 5 whales which was above what we expected, was a clear day and had a wonderful pilot Jesse. Taught us about the different whales in kaikoura. We were booked on day 1 and was postponed due to weather and I’m glad it was. Allow a few days to get the clearer weather.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank Melissasuecampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews