We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible morning”
Review of Wings Over Whales

Wings Over Whales
Ranked #4 of 28 Tours in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Adventure through the skies and experience the true magic of Kaikoura. Wings Over Whales are a Qualmark endorsed visitor activity providing whale watching flights, scenic air tours and point to point private aircraft charter. The focus at Wings Over Whales is to deliver a friendly, high quality, boutique experience to all customers where the comfort and safety of each passenger is paramount. The company operate two aircraft; a 4-seater Cessna 172 as well as an 8-seater Gippsland Airvan. Both planes are high-winged allowing each passenger their own window seat and unobstructed views of Kaikoura’s marine wild life and majestic scenery. Wings Over Whales are situated at Kaikoura Airport, an 8km drive south from the town centre. Located in an inviting log cabin terminal, customers can enjoy great facilities with on-site gift shop, cafe and rest room facilities. In typical 30 minute flight you will see the majestic Sperm Whale preparing for his next dive and up to 500 Dusky Dolphins playfully swimming. Occasional sightings include Southern Right, Humpback, Fin, Sei, Brydes, Pilot, Southern Bottlenose and Blue Whales. Other, less frequent visitors to the area include Southern Right Whale, Orca and the endangered blue whale
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Incredible morning”
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

Having reached Kaikoura with the intention of going on a whale watching boat trip, we were surprised to find out (as a result of recent earthquakes) the waiting list for a trip was about 3-12 weeks.

Only having 2 days we opted for the flight (only $30 more than the boat trip!) and we were so glad we did. We were 5 customers in the small 8-person plane. Pilot Jesse was amazing, very knowledgable, friendly and enthusiastic.

Immediately we spotted a few hundred dusky dolphins off the beach, then we flew over to see Orcas and then out to see the Sperm Whales. You get an amazing top-side view - which gives you a fantastic perspective of the size of the animals and the dolphin pods.

The whole thing lasts about 30 minutes, and the vast majority of the time is spent circling the animals. It was so much fun.
Highly recommended!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
3 Thank Tourist1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    30
    4
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth doing”
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Our pilot was Jesse and we had 5 x persons in our plane, the trip was half an hour and we saw 2 x sperm whales up close and 3 x sperm whales in the distance plus a couple of orca's and huge pods of dolphins. It was well worth doing and an amazing experience to be able to see the whole whale instead of just its tail.
Excellent tour

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
2 Thank daraneez2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing and informative”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

The Guys from "wings over whales" were very friendly from the first minute we arrived. In a short safety instruction our pilot Edward also told us everything you need to know about whales in Kaikura. It was very interesting and well explained. We also appreciate that he told us some names of the whales in german, since this can be kind of confusing.
The flight was pleasant, so don't worry about feeling unwell.
We saw many dolphins, one sperm whale and even one humpback whale.
The chance of not seeing any whale is always given, but even without the whales the view on the coastline of kaikura is amazing.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
6 Thank Schwarz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience !”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Although it is quite short (30 min) we were really happy ! The pilot (Edward) was funny and friendly and we saw plenty of dolphins and 3 whales showing up. Furthermore you will get an ice cream for free if you see a whale ;)

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
2 Thank kleeblatt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful flight and amazing staff - a must do!”
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Unforgettable experience!

We saw a few sperm whales, hundreds of dolphins and ... orcas!! Fantastic souvenir!

As it was my first time in a small aircraft I was anxious, but it turned out to be incredibly enjoyable and peaceful with astonishing scenic views of Kaikoura's bay and the Alps altogether.
The staff is very friendly, helpful and specially takes time to teach about the submarine biological diversity of Kaikoura Canyon.
Lastly, the office is new and particular attention to details is made adding to the charm!

Highly recommended and definitely one of the highlights of my trip in New Zealand! Thank you again Wings Over Whales!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
4 Thank ingriddup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wings0verWhales, Manager at Wings Over Whales, responded to this review, 19 February 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your flight with us here at Wings Over Whales. How fantastic that you were able to see Orca on your flight, they are a special visitor to Kaikoura waters and always exciting to see.

Thanks again for flying with us. We wish you a safe and happy holiday in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wings Over Whales also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Wings Over Whales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing