We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
US$125
View deal
Booking.comUS$125
eDreamsUS$125
Agoda.comUS$125
TripadvisorUS$125
ZenHotels.com
Destinia.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
642 results
Traveller rating
476
132
23
2
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
476
132
23
2
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pier hotel across the road yellow castle spacious room sea front sea view sound of the waves whale watching great place to stay south island spa bath new zealand great room two night stay great accommodation walk into town sky tv
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 642 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights in a sea facing room. The room was very spacious and clean. Good off street parking virtually at back door of unit. Wonderful view from motel to the waterfront and its various activities. An easy walk into the township along the waterfront. Have stayed at various motels in Kaikoura but this is the best by far.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank dip1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn Meikle, Owner at Anchor Inn Motel Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review.
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us thanks Lyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A beautifully clean and furnished motel. Lyn did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable - she even arranged dinner at the Pier Hotel . (The crayfish chowder was superb). Comfortable bed and lovely bathroom. I can highly recommend staying here.
Ralph

Room tip: Rooms with sea views are great
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B4039BGrobertp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn Meikle, Owner at Anchor Inn Motel Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Ralph
Thank you for your time to write a lovely review.
We are so happy you had a great time thanks Lyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recommend you stay here.
We enjoyed our stay at the Anchor Inn Motel very much. Every thing was clean and Lyn was a great hostess. The view from our room was great. We will return. Kaikoura has so much to offer
Tim and Sheryl

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ramsey51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn Meikle, Owner at Anchor Inn Motel Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Guy's
Thank so much for your time to write a great review.
We are so happy you both enjoyed your stay with us.
Safe travels thanks Lyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights. The motel is perfectly situated on the main Esplanade, and offers uninterrupted views of the harbour and mountains. The motel was clean, and has all the standard amenities you would expect. The Pier Hotel is within walking distance or offers a complimentary shuttle service. Go here for great meals, drinks, and outstanding views. The motel hosts, Lynn and Paul, were brilliant. Very welcoming and informative.

Room tip: Roadside rooms have exceptional views. There was no traffic disturbance.
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn Meikle, Owner at Anchor Inn Motel Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Judith
Thanks for your time to write a lovely review.
We are so happy you had a lovely stay with us thanks Again Lyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2021

Great place - clean, modern, fantastic and well equipped wee kitchen, clean towels daily, super comfy bed and pillows and strong water pressure in the shower!
The owners are super nice and the view is to die for!
Short walk/drive to pubs, restaurants, cafes ect
Gladly recommend and will happily stay again on our next trip!

Room tip: book an ocean facing room - wake up to sunrise over the ocean and amazing views all day!
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2oddsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn Meikle, Owner at Anchor Inn Motel Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Guys
Thank you so much for your great review.
We are so pleased you had a lovely stay with us.
See you next trip safe travels thanks again Lyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews