We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Meander34839676219

Beach views

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Jan 2024
Nice and quiet, good access to the beach. Friendly staff. Clean rooms and good facilities. Would have been nice if air conditioned but there was a fan. Also could do with a larger couch to stretch out on. Good Selection of sky tv channels. Bed not that comfy.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.9 km from Alpine View Motel
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • eDreams
2.2 km from Alpine View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Alpine View Motel
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
3.3 km from Alpine View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our little home for our stay!
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.2 km from Alpine View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.1 km from Alpine View Motel
Free parking
Bedroom 1
Contact accommodation for availability.
2.5 km from Alpine View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Alpine View Motel
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
8.2 km from Alpine View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $223
  • Priceline
4.0 km from Alpine View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kaikoura
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
35
47
20
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
35
47
20
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews short drive into town supermarket motel ocean mountains
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2023

We were recommended to stay, by friends, and we were not disappointed. Very clean, tidy, cosy unit for an overnight stay on our way to Christchurch. Friendly hosts, Shirley and Morgan, and our unit 12, Studio unit had everything we needed. Quiet from highway noise. You do hear the 2 trains but we love hearing them. Loved the fact that we could go out the gate at the end of the property and walk onto the beautiful, pounding surf beach. Sunrise the next morning, with snow on the mountains, was stunning. We will be back.

Room tip: A lovely retreat, if you are lucky enough to be retired, and able to book mid-week
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tonyandwendy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2023

Well appointed and clean motel. Arrived at Easter to find a special gift of Easter eggs in the fridge which the family loved. Very happy to provide extra linen and free washing powder for the washing machine. Nice and close to the beach and supermarket just down the road.

Date of stay: March 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Travel49069806393
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2023 via mobile

This is a comfortable and clean motel. We had a “superb ocean view” room and our large glass screen doors did indeed give us an awesome view of the mountains and the ocean. It is a short drive into town but if you want to run to the seal colony or walk to the Pier Hotel for a great meal it is well placed. The free DVDs are also a nice touch.

Room tip: Don’t expect to be able to check in earlier than 3pm
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 318lorrainem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 October 2021 via mobile

Location, amenities, room setup is good and functional. They took my booking and assisted with a very late checkin (after 8pm when the office closes). You can park close to the roon which is handy. Downsides are view from kitchen and bathroom uis terrible, petrol station and public bathrooms, price is high for holiday stop, I suggest to choose something on the Esplanade if holidaying. Beds are too soft for us as a couple (Im a 120kgs, my wife is 50kgs) but thats a personal preference. In a nutshell, good for a stop if passing thru, but spend more time looking if you want an experiance.

Room tip: Look at Esplanade accomodation for a holiday.
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank raymondfaulkner68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2021

Lyn and Garry must get a lot of customers from the interisland ferries because they don't seem to mind what time you have to arrive. Even really late, one of them is there to hand welcome you and over the key. The units are very tidy, with really comfortable beds and linen and a good shower. Highly recommended.

Room tip: They are all good rooms, with parking right outside.
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianambrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews