We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
josiah f
Greater Wellington, New Zealand

Breathtaking views of the Seawards from our balcony

Review of Panorama Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Mar 2024
Very comfortable place to stay. It's very much an older place, and we were hoping it hadn't gone downhill since we were there last; it hadn't. Breathtaking views of the Seawards from our balcony in the morning, and locals will wave and say hello. Well-appointed, friendly management. Small shower was a minor drawback but hey. We'll be back.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$173
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Panorama Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$138
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Panorama Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$93
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
2.8 km from Panorama Motel
Free parking
Pool
Perfect waterfront location
Tripadvisor
$154
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Panorama Motel
Free parking
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
$138
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.5 km from Panorama Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
deluxe family room
Tripadvisor
$176
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
9.3 km from Panorama Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel at dusk
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $183
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Panorama Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $188
  • Booking.com
4.2 km from Panorama Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $195
  • Expedia.com
    $206
1.1 km from Panorama Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $129
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Panorama Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kaikoura
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
85
98
46
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
85
98
46
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet road friendly and helpful owners would stay again the ground floor bedroom unit centre of town short drive bay views motel mountains sofa ocean township hosts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2024 via mobile

Lovely motel with welcoming and friendly staff. It is in a wonderful position on the esplanade overlooking the sea.
We had ground floor room with patio. The room was well appointed with large comfortable king bed with lovely crisp white bedsheets and pillows. There were two comfortable chairs to sit in & look out to the sea view or watch TV. There was well appointed kitchen with nice supply of teabags etc. The shower was wonderful plenty of hot water and nice smelling shower gel. The
only issue in that the room was it was hot due to sun-streaming in through patio windows but once doors opened it cooled down & there is a fan.
We were warned before we went that there is construction work at the motel - luckily for us not at the weekend when we were staying.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CVLC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 January 2024

Warned about rebuilding after earthquake and our room was next to the construction site, but not expecting the 0730 start with drills and hammers.

Room was comfortable and functional; I suspect we had been allocated it as it was ‘accessible’ and my wife has a disability, but I really think we should have been offered something away from the construction works.

No real issues otherwise and, whilst it is on the outskirts of the town, it worked for us.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank V7571LQmichaelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 December 2023

Just stayed 3 nights in the Upper King Studio, clean, modern with great view overlooking the beach. Comfy bed, great amenities. The owners and Staff were great, freindly and accommodating. Loved being able to take our dog Sarge. Already booked for next Christmas 🎄 😌

Kerry and Robert Wall
Christchurch NZ

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank minniepearl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 November 2023

We stayed at this lovely motel for 2 nights. We had a one bedroom apartment on the upper level. A lovely cosy wood cabin style apartment with stunning views out to sea. It was well equipped, had comfortable beds and was spotlessly clean. There was a lovely helpful lady on reception when I checked in. I would highly recommend a stay here. It's a short drive into town for shops and restaurants, there is however a pub and restaurant a short walk away from the motel, The Pier Hotel where we had a meal on our second evening, I would suggest booking ahead as we failed to get a table when we turned up on the first evening. We had a lovely coastal walk while we were there, plenty of sea lions and a variety of sea birds to be seen, which was lovely. We also went on a whale watching flight, we were lucky enough to spot a sperm whale as well as pods of dolphins. Overall a great stay.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank RCWales64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 November 2023 via mobile

There are amazing views from the rooms, through full length windows, out onto Kaikoura bay. It’s a little out of town, so you do need a car if you want to get to most of the bars/restaurants, but none of the hotels in the town centre have anything like the same views.

Internally our room was in the style of a log cabin, and had really nice soft furnishings. We had armchairs by the windows where we could sit and watch what was going on in the bay. The room was well equipped, with Sky tv, including sport and movies. The kitchen had a lovely big worktop. The only thing lacking was storage (cupboards/drawers) if you were staying a long time.

We had a ground floor king studio. If we stayed again I would go for up an upper room, which would have slightly better views and a bit more privacy from other guests - why do people have to stare into your room when walking past! I’m normally put off from upper rooms because you have to carry your cases up stairs, but at this motel there are parking areas at higher and lower levels, so you still park almost outside your room.

It’s nice to walk around the peninsular to the seal colony. The Pier hotel is also close by - it’s great place to have a drink and look out over the bay, and is well known for its seafood restaurant, but you need to book to eat there in the evenings,

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Alison08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews