We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
$229
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
weechancer
Delamere, United Kingdom

Wonderful hotel, great service from the staff

Review of Sudima Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Apr 2024
Wonderful hotel, great service from the staff, but rather large uplift on the price of drinks in the bar. When we arrived a coach load of German tourists had arrived at the same time and it had overwhelmed the receptionist. A second receptionist came to help out and realised that we were not part of the tour group and checked us in and then made sure that we had all the information for an early morning tour we were taking the next day.
All the staff were very helpful and the room was modern, clean and spacious - could not have asked for anything more.
The only slight downside, the prices in the bar were some of the highest we encountered across the whole of New Zealand, however the local bars were only 10-15 minutes walk away
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charmaine Carroll, General Manager at Sudima Kaikoura, responded to this review
Responded 15 Apr 2024
Thank you weechancer for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you found our hotel wonderful, our staff helpful, and our rooms modern, clean, and spacious. We’re glad to hear that our team was able to assist you promptly and ensure you had all the necessary information for your early morning tour.
Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$201
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Sudima Kaikoura
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$167
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Sudima Kaikoura
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$200
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $197
  • Agoda.com
    $153
  • Expedia.com
    $178
3.4 km from Sudima Kaikoura
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$298
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Sudima Kaikoura
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$116
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Sudima Kaikoura
Free parking
Pool
Perfect waterfront location
Tripadvisor
$272
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Sudima Kaikoura
Free parking
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
$144
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.6 km from Sudima Kaikoura
Free Wifi
Free parking
deluxe family room
Tripadvisor
$270
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
8.4 km from Sudima Kaikoura
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $135
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Sudima Kaikoura
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $162
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Sudima Kaikoura
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kaikoura
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
36
7
5
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
36
7
5
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel fridge town views sea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2024

We spent 2nights at this amazing hotel. We were very late getting to hotel as we were delayed , but the hotel kept the restaurant open for us to have our meal, which was excellent.
Breakfast was good choice and was excellent, staff very friendly and helpful.

Hotel right by the sea, lovely spacious rooms and great views , spotless and comfortable bed.
Would highly recommend this hotel, wish Omer could have stayed longer.

Room tip: Great hotel , lovely rooms, helpful staff, great for seal sanctuary and whaling boats.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charmaine Carroll, General Manager at Sudima Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Thank you for your glowing review! We’re thrilled to hear that you had an amazing stay at our hotel. It’s wonderful to know that you appreciated our accommodating staff, excellent meals, and comfortable rooms with great views.
We’re especially glad that we could make your late arrival more comfortable by keeping our restaurant open for you. We’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much that you wished you could have stayed longer.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2024

Really lovely hotel ! The beds were ridiculously comfortable and I had the best nights sleep of the year. The buffet breakfast was delicious and had a huge selection of food so definitely something for everyone. The cocktails were also delicious and had a good selection of local spirits at the bar. The pool was nice and warm and very clean. Really enjoyed my stay 😁

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank annawY5707UG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charmaine Carroll, General Manager at Sudima Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Thank you for your fantastic review! We’re delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our buffet breakfast, cocktails, and pool. It’s wonderful to know that you had the best night’s sleep of the year with us!

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2024

Lovely stay at the Sudima Hotel Kaikōura!
Staff were super lovely and accomodating. Amazing rooms and facilities! Great food and drinks at the restaurant and bar on site. Absolutely loved the buffet breakfast in the morning. Definitely recommend to anyone staying in Kaikōura

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charmaine Carroll, General Manager at Sudima Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We’re thrilled to hear that you had a lovely stay at Sudima Hotel Kaikōura and enjoyed our facilities, food, and drinks. We’re especially glad that our staff made your experience pleasant and that you loved our buffet breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2024 via mobile

This modern hotel is relatively new so everything was in excellent condition.
Free Parking is available on a 1st come basis but there's plenty of free parking on street parking immediately outside.
The room was comfortable with great views from the full height windows over the sea and across to the mountains.
Other than burgers or fish & chips dining options seem pretty limited in Kaikoura so ate in the hotel restaurant ( Hiku) one night. It was good and a reasonable cost but booking seems to be essential.
The Encounter cafe next door does an excellent range of breakfasts.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charmaine Carroll, General Manager at Sudima Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2024

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel! We’re delighted to hear that you found everything in excellent condition and enjoyed the comfortable room with stunning views of the sea and mountains. We are glad to know you enjoyed dining in Hiku. Thank you for your feedback & we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2024

This hotel is located on the Esplanade in Kaikoura, across the road from a stone beach.
On check in we received a quite cold but courteous greeting, A warm welcoming greeting would have been nicer. No help was offered with our luggage, but we did locate a trolley to get our luggage from our car, in the small free car park, to our room on the fourth floor.
Our room was a good size. As it was a corner room we enjoyed double aspect floor to ceiling windows. The room was far from functional, which we would describe as style over substance. For example there were five hooks located on the wall behind the door to hang clothes, no wardrobe. The height of two of these hooks was out of reach for anyone less than around 1.9m tall. The limited shelf storage was at a very low level which we found unusable.
The bathroom was a good size with a choice of shower heads, but more thought needed to have been given to the positioning of the controls, which we found inconveniently sited. Two stainless steel pins in the polished concrete wall was all the hanging space available for two bath towels, two hand towels and two bath robes. Completely inadequate. On check out I raised these issues and was told that the lack of towel rails in the bathroom had been identified by previous guests and was something that was going to be rectified.
Sachets of instant coffee were all that was available. Unlike other hotels who, as standard, provide coffee machines of a coffee pot.
We stayed for 4 nights and it appeared the bedding was not changed throughout our stay. We know this as a mascara stain was made on a pillow case on our first night and it was still there on our fourth night.
We have already written a separate review about our dinner dining experience in the hotels Hiku restaurant. However breakfast was reasonable but choices were limited. The only fruit available was that which had been cut up and placed in a bowl. Bananas were noticeably absent as was any fish.
For the rates charged we did not feel we received good value for money.
Having now experienced the Sudima Service Model, we would not return to this hotel and are unlikely to use any other hotels in this group.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Daydream802738
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charmaine Carroll, General Manager at Sudima Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience you experienced and appreciate your comments as they allow us to identify areas where we can improve.

We understand that a warm welcome sets the tone for a great stay, and we regret that we fell short in this regard. We will address this with our front desk team to ensure a more welcoming experience for all our guests.

We’re disappointed to hear that you would not return to our hotel or use other hotels in our group. We value all our guests and would like to assure you that your feedback has been taken seriously. We hope that we will have another opportunity in the future to provide you with the exceptional experience that we strive to offer all our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews