We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
ZenHotels.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
102
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
102
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2020 via mobile

We had a lovely 3 night stay in the lodge at Barnacle Bills. The hosts were super helpful and friendly. The house was immaculately clean and the beds extremely comfortable. We had everything we needed and more. Loved the seaside decor and the atmosphere of the house was lovely and cozy yet modern. Would definitely return. Thanks so much for having us hopefully we will see you again!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Maza223
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 June 2019

Our family had a great stay in the cottage at Barnacle Bills. It is a little removed from the town centre with trails to walk right at your doorstep. The cottage is modern and really well appointed and very comfortable. Very clean and tidy, fantastic cooking facilities, and sparkling clean bathroom with shower and a separate toilet. The only improvement would be to have more comfortable lounge suite. But Kaikoura has too many attractions available to be sitting around too long.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Korimako10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 February 2019

We stayed at Barnacle Bill's for 2-nights while in Kaikoura to see the sperm whales (NZ$150). It was a gem, perched on the top of a bench amongst rolling farmland yet only a short walk (15 min) or drive (less than 5 min) from town. While there were no amenities in the local area, nothing was far away and any inconvenience was more than made up for by the peace & quiet and the proximity to the peninsula walkways (the owner, Liz, will drive you to the seal colony, halving the walk along the coast and back) & the water tower view point.

There were only 2 options here, the larger “lodge” and the “cottage,” both in the same buildings. While my impression from the internet images was of a rustic retro-hippy throwback, fortunately nothing could be further from the truth. The cottage was clean, comfortable & modern, spacious in all aspects. Entered from a broad deck with a sitting area (2 chairs & side table) facing a flower garden to one side and table & 4 chairs with an ocean view to the other, you walked into a carpeted sitting area with 2 love seats, coffee table, small stereo and a cabinet with a DVD player and wall-mounted TV. To the side was a large kitchen with an L-shaped vanity, oven & stove, full fridge & freezer and all of the cutlery, pots, etc. Two moderate-sized bedrooms were off to the right, one with a comfortable queen bed, the other with a double & twin. The bathroom, off to the left, was huge with a large vanity, toilet in a separate alcove, and a spacious shower with great water pressure.

There was a door to the back garden with its grass, flower beds, and bbq. Further back and to the side were fields, home to the owners pet pig, a huge good-natured beast and a favourite with neighbours who stopped by with food.

Kaikoura itself is a moderate sized and very pleasant sea-side town with a lot of conveniences – restaurants, pubs, a supermarket, and plenty of attractions. Barnacle Bill's was a great place to see it all: spacious and comfortable in a great location with a super hostess and at a very reasonable price. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 February 2019 via mobile

Run by a very friendly and helpful host, Barnacle Bills has a a cottage and lodge next door to each other. We stayed in the smaller cottage that sleeps 5 in 2 bedrooms.

Comfortable and well equipped accommodation. Large open plan living, dining and kitchen that almost felt too large for two people as wasn't very cosy. I didn't much care for the decor, especially the cork wall, but I guess that's a personal thing. The bed was comfortable, which is one of the most important things.

Location is peaceful, above the town and pretty much on the peninsula walkway, which is handy. However, it should be noted there are no amenities within walking distance. Nice outdoor seating area with partial sea view. Friendly pig out back.

We had a good stay and thought the cottage was good value for money

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jasmine38Chichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 January 2019 via mobile

Wow Liz. A superb stay at a magnificent location. We will be back. Thanks so much for looking after us. Your B@B is fantastic and we will miss Ginger greatly. From the mountains to the sea.....you have it all. Luv the Brennan's :-)

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ats118765
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews