We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
101
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
101
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2019 via mobile

Run by a very friendly and helpful host, Barnacle Bills has a a cottage and lodge next door to each other. We stayed in the smaller cottage that sleeps 5 in 2 bedrooms.

Comfortable and well equipped accommodation. Large open plan living, dining and kitchen that almost felt too large for two people as wasn't very cosy. I didn't much care for the decor, especially the cork wall, but I guess that's a personal thing. The bed was comfortable, which is one of the most important things.

Location is peaceful, above the town and pretty much on the peninsula walkway, which is handy. However, it should be noted there are no amenities within walking distance. Nice outdoor seating area with partial sea view. Friendly pig out back.

We had a good stay and thought the cottage was good value for money

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jasmine38Chichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2019 via mobile

Wow Liz. A superb stay at a magnificent location. We will be back. Thanks so much for looking after us. Your B@B is fantastic and we will miss Ginger greatly. From the mountains to the sea.....you have it all. Luv the Brennan's :-)

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ats118765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2019 via mobile

Barnacle bills was absolutely amazing! The location was beautiful, the accommodation was even better and Liz was lovely. I couldn't have thought of a better place to spend my 2 nights in Kaikoura! 10/10

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jumpingjames12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2019 via mobile

Barnacle Bills and Liz!
What can we say! Our two day stay here whilst exploring Kaikoura was simply amazing. We could not have wanted for more; and if we had of, Liz was unbelievably accommodating and helpful!
The place was spotless, beds comfy and everything was accessible and felt ‘homely’ and loved.
Thanks so much- we will be back if (more like when), we return to Kaikoura!

NB. Ginger the pet pig was an absolute stunner! She loved our left over veggies!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank phoebegould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2019 via mobile

Not much to add to all the other reviews - this was a lovely, well-priced place to stay in the hills above Kaikoura. Huge, well-equipped accommodation, not a complaint in the world.

Would like to mention that Liz sent us something we left behind, free of charge (even though we offered to pay), all the way to Europe. Very generous host!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Alexei V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews