We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wildlife Sea Kayaking Tour - Kaikoura
335

Book in advance
from
$150.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Kaikoura Kayaks
from $150.00
More Info
from $300.00
More Info
from $150.00
More Info
Reviews (1,396)
Filter reviews
1,396 results
Traveller rating
1,269
96
20
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,269
96
20
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fur seals kayak tour saw seals experienced kayakers dusky dolphins double kayak safety briefing amazing experience bird life highlight of our trip paddle matt guide wildlife gear instructions beginners
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
386 - 391 of 1,396 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2020

We were very lucky that we ended up having a private tour due to low numbers during Covid-19 level 2. I was worried about being cold but with the layers they provide on top of your own it was totally fine! Seal sightings are pretty much guaranteed, and they are very respectful of giving the seals space. We were lucky to see a few penguins as well. It can be tiring but on a beautiful and calm day it was wonderful! Our guide was also fantastic. I would say that you can see the seals from land so it makes this trip quite expensive, but I wouldn't have changed it!

Date of experience: May 2020
Thank Sk444990
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Exploration826860, Front Office Manager at Kaikoura Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2020

Thanks for the review!

Regards,
The friendly team at Kaikoura Kayaks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2020

Probably one of the last pre covid19 tours! We had perfect, warm weather. Very impressed with the safety briefing and equipment. Easy paddling round the coast line with great viewing of sea lions and coastal geology. Loved the guide's recommendation for lunch afterwards at Slam Club.

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank JanetAndStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Exploration826860, Front Office Manager at Kaikoura Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2020

Hi Janet and Stuart,

Thank you for the great review, we are glad you got to experience our Wildlife Sea Kayaking tour!
Pleased to hear you were impressed with the safety briefings and equipment

Regards,

Kaikoura Kayaks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2020

Our guides were very friendly and fun, we liked that it is a family-business.
In all we can recommend the tour. It could have been a little more time in the water for the price. The kayaks are from a good quality and easy to use even for beginners. We didn't see dolphins but if you are lucky there might be the possibility to paddle besides them. There were a lot of seals at the seal colony and we even observed a little penguin. Thumbs up!

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank Lukas A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Exploration826860, Front Office Manager at Kaikoura Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2020

Hi Lukas,

Thanks for the feedback, we feel 1.5-2 hours on the water is a great amount of time to explore the wonderful Kaikoura Peninsula!

Thanks for the recommendation

Regards,

The friendly team at Kaikoura Kayaks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2020

Had a great couple of hours on the water with Emma and Cohen. Amazing expeience of dolphins leaping out of the water close by and swimming all around our kayaks as well as getting close to a local seal colony. The dolphins almost seemed to be having as much fun as us. Heartily recommend this as a 'must do' experience in Kaikoura.

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank michaelsL8228WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Exploration826860, Front Office Manager at Kaikoura Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2020

Hi Michael,

We agree the Dusky Dolphins are having as much fun as us out there!

Thanks for the great review

Warm regards,

The friendly team at Kaikoura Kayaks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2020

After excellent instructions at the headquarters, we were taken to the launch area.
Squeezed into our spray skirts, donned waterproof jackets, then carried the boats to the shore. Two hours of paddling to view fur seals frolicking, blue penquins bobbing,
then a male orca with 2 females. Skies were blue & water was mostly calm. The guides
watched us constantly and gave us suggestions as needed. A great experience!

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank LovesNewZealand12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Exploration826860, Front Office Manager at Kaikoura Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2020

Sounds like you had a very special tour out on the water with us!

We are pleased you enjoyed the briefings, equipment and the wonderful marine life around the Kaikoura Peninsula

Many thanks,

The friendly team at Kaikoura Kayaks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews