We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Dolphins 😍😍😍

I was so super lucky booking this tour that afternoon. Maria, our lovely tour guide, detected... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Helen S
via mobile
Fantastic experience!!

We had the best experience possible with our awesome guides Blake and Maria - we got to see dusky... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Martin C
Read all 784 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Kaikoura
from US$45.64
More Info
from US$105.33
More Info
from US$333.54
More Info
from US$245.77
More Info
Reviews (784)
Filter reviews
784 results
Traveller rating
704
65
11
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
704
65
11
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea kayaking kayak tour octopus kayaking experience blue penguins double kayak saw seals great guide these guys local wildlife great trip on the rocks safety briefing morning tour bird life awesome experience safety talk
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 784 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Me and my wife went on a half-day trip with Kaikoura Kayaks in January. This was absolutely great, also on a day with not the best weather.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Aron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

Did the sunset tour today and really enjoyed the experience. I have no previous experience of sea kayaking but felt completely safe with these guys !

We were lucky enough to see both dolphins and seals on the trip. With the seals chowing down on an octopus at sea.

Paddling wasn’t difficult and the kayaks were very stable on the sea. If you get the chance definitely use these guys as they are extremely professional!

Enjoy!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Rexy_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Booked online which was easy as. The guys running the trip were full of info about the local environment and wildlife. We went out on a windy day but the guides ensured all went smoothly. Great to see the seals close up.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank mackem70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

What a great activity to do whilst in Kaikoura! We booked a sunset kayak with Kaikoura Kayaks. The booking process online was very easy and from the moment we rocked up at their store the staff were friendly and very accommodating. When we arrived at Kaikoura in the afternoon the wind was blowing from the NE - at least 30knots or more. White caps filled the bay. We were sure the activity would be cancelled.
Alas Callum and his team assured us the activity could still go ahead in the sheltered South Bay and we were so pleased it did! What a great way to see the beauty of the marine wonderland around Kaikoura with its many fur seals with an activity that is not too arduous - in fact good fun!
The safety talk and instructions prior to getting in the water were perfect for the group and made us feel at ease. The sea kayaks they used were very stable in the conditions and we came back pretty much dry as!
Whilst out on the water the boys gave us an informative talk about the area, the bird life and the fur seals that was both humourous and interesting.
If you want to see the fur seals whilst getting out for a fun activity I can highly recommend these guys!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank holidaywarrior_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

These guys are absolutely the best. We arranged to do a morning tour and then couldn’t get there because the road was blocked. Tyler and the guys rang us numerous times to update us on road conditions and when we finally made it, they were happy to take us whenever we got there. They have ALL THE EQUIPMENT and wet weather gear, so we were warm as toast, and Callum made our tour so enjoyable. The kids had a ball. Highly recommend these guys - you will never get service like this anywhere else!! Love Kaikoura, and love Kaikoura Kayaks. We will be back!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank blackannie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews