We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ajsiromani
Hyderabad, India

Good place to stay

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Mar 2024
Good place to stay if you are visiting Kaikoura for the Whale watching trip. It is close to the Whale Watch pick up point.
It is also a five minute drive to the beach, which is really nice to walk along.
Rooms were basic, very clean and had enough facilities and equipment for self service as well.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$92
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Kaikoura Motor Inn
Free parking
Pool
Perfect waterfront location
$187
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.3 km from Kaikoura Motor Inn
Free parking
Beachfront
$160
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Kaikoura Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Fairways luxury accommodation in Kaikoura, near the beach, at dusk
$168
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $168
4.5 km from Kaikoura Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$197
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $197
3.3 km from Kaikoura Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$119
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.0 km from Kaikoura Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    $112
  • StayForLong
0.1 km from Kaikoura Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $174
  • Priceline
3.4 km from Kaikoura Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $161
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Kaikoura Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $275
  • Priceline
4.0 km from Kaikoura Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kaikoura
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
54
65
37
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
54
65
37
14
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2024

Located on a main road as were most others in the town. Noise was not an issue. Plenty of parking right near the rooms. Playground equipment for children. Nice bench seating just outside rooms. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Cooking facilities in room but no cooktop, just a microwave, toaster, jug, fridge etc.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 569wg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2022 via mobile

I always stay here when coming up to kaikoura on surf trips. The place is perfect, hosts are incredible, rooms are tidy, warm, and clean…. It’s also walking distance to a ripper fish burger: great option when the waves are on or if you’re passing through.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Hrt79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 January 2022

Nice rooms with all that was required. Very clean. Pet (dog) friendly subject to approval and conditions (all understandable) from owner, Donald. Donald and staff very friendly and helpful with local information.

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard_Chris_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 November 2021

We chose this motel because we were in a ute towing a furniture trailer and it looked to have good parking. This was certainly the case, and the owners went out of their way to make sure we had good parking. We were en route from Taupo to Queenstown and stayed two single nights on the way down and back.

The units (12 and 15) had everything we needed for one night, they were clean and tidy, the beds were comfortable, the heat pump was very welcome and the kitchen had all that we needed (I liked the fact there was a coffee plunger although I didn't use it).

Downside - no flannels in the bathroom on the first night (unit 12) and the units looked tired and dated, especially unit 15. A lick of paint would do wonders. WiFi was not very good but the weather was poor, especially on the second visit and I think the atmospherics were not helping.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank julietquilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 January 2021

We stayed in a two bedroom family unit for 1 night. The unit was clean, cosy and had all the amenities that we needed for our short stay. The playground was a nice addition for the kids. This was perfect for a one night stay.

Date of stay: January 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Greg123638
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews