We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
$186
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Julia @Scrumptious Solent
Southampton, United Kingdom

Lovely traditional B&B on the seafront

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Mar 2024via mobile
We had a lovely stay in the hotel in room 9 overlooking the sea (and with an external balcony facing the seafront). The room was large and comfortable with a good size bathroom (and lovely toiletries).

Staff were friendly and welcoming and there was free parking alongside the hotel. Nice to walk into town along the promenade to visit the restaurants (about 1 km). In the opposite direction you can walk (or drive) to the local seal colony (definitely worth seeing!).

The hotel has a lovely private garden courtyard at the rear for guests and provides a continental breakfast.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: The upstairs bedrooms in the main house face the seafront
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $201
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • StayForLong
    $271
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $138
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $201
  • eDreams
3.4 km from Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $184
  • Hotels.com
3.5 km from Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Küche
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $156
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $135
  • Hotels.com
3.4 km from Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
room1
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $201
  • Hotels.com
3.2 km from Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $126
  • Booking.com
1.2 km from Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $239
  • Priceline
5.4 km from Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kaikoura
Reviews (547)
Filter reviews
547 results
Traveller rating
307
152
51
18
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
307
152
51
18
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtyard room main building small hotel breakfast was excellent overlooking the sea bed was comfortable a lovely stay seal colony across the road jen town views esplanade platter nz host units
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 547 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2024 via mobile

The rooms are extremely small, perhaps the smallest room I have been in. It is clean and the bed is relatively comfortable. Great location. Small things like the towel hooks had fallen off and not been replaced. In the tight space there was nowhere to hang a towel. This hotel would be okay for one night.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank seonagmacrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2024 via mobile

Quaint older hotel with lots of charm. Stayed in the main building - our room had a large balcony, great bathroom and comfy bed. We were greeted with lots of recommendations for dining and activities. Breakfast was a little basic, but standard continental. The staff in the breakfast room however, outstanding, kind and friendly. Unfortunately we didn’t get to have a drink in the lounge as it was closed @ 7pm.

Room tip: Stay in main building if possible Don’t miss the beautiful cliff walk near the pier.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2024 via mobile

This hotel has an excellent location and provides cleanly lodging. There is a delightful garden with colorful flowers and lovely lake views are right across the road. A delicious breakfast was included in the cost of our stay. I recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 907JLeMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 February 2024 via mobile

We booked at short notice. We had read the reviews and done our homework. Yes the courtyard rooms are bijou but the courtyard itself was a pleasant place to sit and have a beer or glass of wine, we managed both. The Weather was amazing whilst we were there so we didn’t sit in the lounge/bar area, which by the way looked very comfortable.

Although bijou we did manage the space well for the two nights we were there as we had already had much practice after our first three weeks touring NZ. Like any technique, you improve with practice.

The location of the Pier is excellent for a drink outside if you are lucky enough to have the weather as we did.

If we had one small issue it was that we were slightly disappointed with the one breakfast we had. We had hoped that we would have been able to choose the type of eggs we wanted, instead it was boiled or boiled. Both of my eggs were cold hard boiled. Fortunately I have a very healthy appetite and was able to make amends with a range of continental items. Some cold meats and cheeses would have been a further improvement.

To sum up, friendly, bijou accommodation in a great location. Breakfast could be improved upon.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2024 via mobile

Really excellent & charming little hotel. It’s about a 15 minute walk to the town centre and about 30 minutes to the peninsula’s end.

Staff are charming and nothing was too much for Jen, the owner.

It’s right on the coast so the views are spectacular. Sadly my travel agent got me one of the rooms in the courtyard, so I had to make do with sitting outside in the garden to enjoy the evening view.

Room was a good size & comfortable, so no complaints there.

Room tip: Ask for a room overlooking the coast
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Companion25908384034
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews