We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectacular views, location and experience”
Early summer's evening at the Kahutara PurePod.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Early summer's evening at the Kahutara PurePod.
Picture postcard views from the luxurious bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Early summer's evening at the Kahutara PurePod.
Picture postcard views from the luxurious bed
Stunning views from the kitchen
Surrounded by glass, with no barriers to completely immersing yourself in the landscape
Mid winter's day, stunning views of the snow-capped Seaward Kaikoura mountain range
Beautiful winter sunshine
Beautiful views from the shower
At the height of summer, the grass turns into a beautiful glowing, golden carpet of colour.
Relax on the deck and enjoy the views
Mid-summer's afternoon
Watching the sunset
Beautiful 10-15 minute nature walk from the carpark to the PurePod
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Joanne S
Gladstone, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular views, location and experience”
Reviewed 11 April 2019 for a stay in April 2019

We had no idea what to expect but absolutely loved our overnight stay. Luckily we had clear sky's so sleeping under the stars was wonderful. The hosts supplied lots of food (we took our own wine). There was supplies for a cheese platter, which we enjoyed while watching the sun go down. We had steak for dinner (optional as you can choose Salmon or Chicken if preferred). There was a salad, potatoes, sweets for desert and condiments. Breakfast supplies were yoghurt, museli, berry compote, croissants, butter, jam, fruit. More than enough for two people.
It's about a 1km tramp (kiwi for trek) from the carpark at the farm to the remote purepod. The pod itself is quite small but quite sufficient for two people. There is hot water, a shower, toilet, fridge, small BBQ, hotplate, cutlery and a very comfortable bed. Even the floor is glass, and there is underfloor heating which we welcomed the next morning as it was quite cold in the morning. Waking up to the sunrise was awesome.

Date of stay: April 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
12 Apr 2019
That's so cool to hear how much you enjoyed your stay Joanne! It's a very special spot up there nestled amongst the majestic Kaikoura ranges. Thanks for taking the time to send us your thoughts.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cowgirlNZ
nz
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Stunning Setting - Stunning Place”
Reviewed 29 March 2019 for a stay in March 2019

Excellent weekend break away - so peaceful, you feel as if you're in the middle of nowhere and yet you are reasonably close to Kaikoura. Hearing the birds, and the river tumbling past just sets the tone for total relaxation. The booking was easy to make online and communication with directions etc very explicit. The Pod was extremely clean and in pristine condition (no mean feat with all that glass!) Completely recommend this for a weekend in nature. If you're lucky you'll get a clear sky.

Date of stay: March 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
1 Apr 2019
Thanks Samantha, so pleased to hear you really enjoyed your stay! Kahutara is so peaceful nestled there amongst the Kaikoura Seaward ranges.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marissa F
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“A must-do experience on the South Island!”
Reviewed 14 November 2018 for a stay in October 2018

We just returned from a 2-week trip to NZ and our stay at the Kahutara PurePod was easily one of the highlights of our trip. The cabin and amenities were lovely and we enjoyed the stunning views and the peaceful quiet... until the sheep woke us up - the best kind of alarm clock! Our only regret was that we only stayed one night and the clouds prevented us from seeing the stars that night. We didn't want to leave!

A special thank you to Tony for getting in his trailer to manage the water in the fords so we could leave safely after our stay.

I can't recommend the PurePod experience enough!

Date of stay: October 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
20 Nov 2018
So glad you to hear you enjoyed your PurePod stay - sounds like you had a lovely relaxing stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BettinaSo...
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Our Life is Fritted Away By Detail...Simplify, Simplify (Thoreau)”
Reviewed 13 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Wow, simplified yet with unmatched elegance and luxury of experiencing nature purely.

A shout out to Tony and Angela for welcoming us on their beautiful farmland that hosts Kahutara PurePod. We enjoyed three incredibly relaxing days removed from the ever-present electronic “noise” of our professional lives. To leave Tony’s farm yearning for ‘just one more day’ is attest to his and Angela’s kind hospitality. Being strong believers of sourcing local knowledge for overall sustainability, we will rally for Tony from afar to continue his efforts on such!

A huge thanks to Ruth of PurePods for an unforgettable experience!!! What an ingenious concept in sustainability, luxury and functionality!

Date of stay: April 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
15 May 2018
Well that makes it all worthwhile! Sounds like you had a wonderful stay. Thank you so much for taking the time to place your feedback. We love guests that fully embrace and immerse themselves in the entire experience!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBontourw...
Vught, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
Reviewed 1 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

A really unique experience, glamping in a house of glass on top of a hill. Stunning views. We had 2 rainy days which made the stay more challenging and unfortunately no stars at night. A pity was the sound of the power generator which made a noise frequently. Therefore the expected tranquility was a little difficult to achieve.

Date of stay: February 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
2 Mar 2018
Thanks for taking the time to send through your feedback. That is such a shame the weather didn't behave itself for you enough for you to glimpse the stars. Thanks for you comment on the generator noise - that is not normal so we will be looking into what is causing that. Our apologies for it detracting from an otherwise spectacular wee haven!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.