We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dieter W
Hamburg, Germany

Nice room, spectacular view, very nice and friendly host

Review of Rimu Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Apr 2024via mobile
We got a very warm and friendly welcome on arrival. Sue-Ellen is a wonderful host. The lodge and the room (there are only 4) is very nice and spacious. The view from the room and the terrace is spectacular.
At 5 pm the host invites all guests for a „happy hour“ with free drinks. A good chance to meet the other guests and the host. She had a lot of good advices, what to do and where to go for dinner.

Such a pity that we stayed only for two nights!
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
6.2 km from Rimu Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
6.3 km from Rimu Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Kokitika Gorge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $149
  • Hotels.com
5.7 km from Rimu Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
6.7 km from Rimu Lodge
Free Wifi
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $158
  • Hotels.com
6.6 km from Rimu Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $143
  • Hotels.com
6.8 km from Rimu Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Kitchen
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
  • ZenHotels.com
7.1 km from Rimu Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 bedroom main bedroom
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $158
  • Hotels.com
7.0 km from Rimu Lodge
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $312
  • Booking.com
16.2 km from Rimu Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lounge area cottage
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $71
  • eDreams
7.4 km from Rimu Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hokitika
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
212
29
9
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
212
29
9
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sue ellen new zealand one night little extras breakfast was delicious boutique hotel south island other guests upstairs room off the beaten track local information floor to ceiling windows great host two nights next morning hokitika gorge yogurt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2024 via mobile

This was a perfect stay for us and Sue-Ellen was an amazing host! Beautifully nestled on top of a hill, the view was spectacular. We wish it were a clear sky the night we arrived because apparently the night sky looks beautiful from the deck. Everything about this experience was a 10/10.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Aayush P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2024 via mobile

What a wonderful and peaceful lodge. We had a lovely room overlooking the valley. We were lucky enough to see a beautiful sunrise. Sue-Ellen is a great host, providing us with information about the local area and restaurants nearby. We loved happy hour at 5pm and the breakfast was delicious and served in the light and airy lounge. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank traceyandsimon2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 February 2024 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay. Really lovely and comfortable. Sue Ellen, the proprietor, could not have been nicer. The rooms were large as was the bath. Slept like a baby - pillow, sheets, towels, robes all great. Room also had a refrigerator. Loved the view from the large plate glass window. There was a complimentary cocktail hour at 6p which was great. Would highly recommend. ❤️

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank weeziek2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2024

What a place! Wow is a word I have used a lot in NZ. Sue-Ellen is a fabulous host at her amazing property. Beautiful room with great views and direct access to the decking. Happy hour was a beautiful way to enjoy the views, peace and quiet and meet fellow travellers. Delicious breakfast cooked to order. Sue-Ellen couldn’t have been more helpful in trying to locate our missing passports and give suggestions of things to see on our onward journey. Thank you.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 378sarahw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2024

A wonderful haven in a peaceful setting with excellent service. Sue Ellen couldn't have been more helpful & was so attentive & thoughtful when my husband wasn't well. The room was large with beautiful bed linen & gorgeous soft fluffy towels. Lovely terrace to while away a few hours in the sun.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cruiser51406861353
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews