We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Shula
Auckland, New Zealand

Few days away

Review of Rimu Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Apr 2021via mobile
Sue-Ellen is a warm and welcoming host. The lodge offers everything you could wish for, rooms are luxurious and the ‘grand lounge’ is a inviting space to relax in, big open fire, comfy furniture etc. yummy breakfast. Great pub walking distance down the road for dinner! We had a wonderful stay! Sunrise amazing from our room.
Date of stay: April 2021
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.2 km from Rimu Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.3 km from Rimu Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Kokitika Gorge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $159
  • Hotels.com
5.7 km from Rimu Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
6.7 km from Rimu Lodge
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
$292
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $292
6.7 km from Rimu Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$146
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.8 km from Rimu Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 bedroom main bedroom
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $160
  • Hotels.com
7.0 km from Rimu Lodge
Free parking
Kitchen
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
7.1 km from Rimu Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $315
  • Hotels.com
16.2 km from Rimu Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $75
  • eDreams
7.4 km from Rimu Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hokitika
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
212
29
9
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
212
29
9
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sue ellen new zealand one night little extras breakfast was delicious boutique hotel south island other guests upstairs room off the beaten track local information floor to ceiling windows great host two nights next morning hokitika gorge yogurt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2021

From the moment we drove in we were impressed and made to feel welcome and special. We were told of activities in and around Hokitika. Shown to the ‘Tui” room we were immediately impressed with the décor before stepping out onto the large deck overlooking the valley and river. After a great night’s sleep in the most comfortable bed, we headed into breakfast that would rival the best we have enjoyed. Sue-ellen is the ultimate hostess with many little extras and an eye for detail. I cannot rate Rimu Lodge highly enough so if you come to Hokitika you will be in for a treat.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2021 via mobile

A beautiful spot, and Sue-Ellen is a lovely and welcoming host.
The room (we were in Tui) had a beautiful comfy bed and lovely big bathroom. There is a fridge in the room with complimentary soft drinks and tea and coffee available.
Breakfast is great, loved having rhubarb! Plenty of choices (cereals, fruit, and cooked breakfast options and pastries).
For dinner you need to drive to Hokitika town (about 10 mins) or there is a pub about a kilometre away which has decent food.
We were lucky with the weather and were able to enjoy the lovey big deck. The Rimu lodge is definitely a reason to visit Hokitika! Thank you Sue-Ellen for all the lovely treats.

Date of stay: March 2021
Thank annieandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2021

From the moment we arrived the lovely smiling and welcoming face of Sue-Ellen was there to greet us. We were given details of the activities around Hokitika. Sue -Ellen showed us to our lovely room which was upstairs. The room was beautifully appointed with a lovely comfortable bed and a very upmarket bathroom. Each night there was a turndown service and a yummy Finns Fudge on our pillow. Also on arrival there was 2 Whitaker chocolates on our bed. The following day there was homemade shortbread beautifully packaged for our enjoyment. On the last day there was a small tube of Linden Leaves hand cream.
Breakfast was delicious with fresh croissants, jams, cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruit and a choice of some cooked fair, all delicious. Thank you Sue Ellen for making our trip very memorable.

Room tip: Rooms on the southside and upstairs.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ptanj999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2021

Staying at Rimu Lodge for two nights was a wonderful surprise. The lodge is only four rooms and Sue Ellen, the proprietor, makes everyone feel so special and well taken care of. The rooms are beautiful with spectacular views over the river valley and mountains. The bed is fantastic and the bathroom is modern and impeccably clean.

Sue Ellen went out of her way to help us through where to visit in the Hokatika area and her advice was spot on.

This is a higher-end property and the service is too. I would recommend Rimu Lodge to anyone seeking a place to stay that is a few steps up from the regular. We will surely return when next in Hokatika and strongly recommend it to others.

Room tip: All four rooms are wonderful and have similar views. There are two upstairs and two on the main level. Ours was upstairs.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JohnThomason
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2021

Two nights in the care of Sue-Ellen was just not enough. I once read a quote that ‘Customer service is all about finesse’ - Sue-Ellen has finesse by the bucketful!

Our room had beautiful linen, toiletries and an amazing view. Our breakfasts were delicious & Sue-Ellen gave us lots of tips on where to visit & where to eat. A delightful visit

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zamgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews