We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$145
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
Priceline
Agoda.com
$64
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
85
86
25
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
85
86
25
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glow worm dell the kitchen dining table town centre self contained quiet location bedroom unit motel accommodation facilities heater tv playground cottage host
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2019 via mobile

I stayed here two nights in a triple room with bathroom and separate kitchen with door so you don't have to hear the fridge at night. Carpark right out front of unit and grassed area out back with chairs and table. Older accommodation but clean and tidy with modern clean bedspreads.Towels changed daily and milk supplied daily. The beach is behind houses across the road with a track to beach. Lovely walk into township along beach took 20mins. Good value for money accommodation.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank DJW20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2019

I stayed with a large group over the weekend while we were in town for a convention. The accomodation was basic and the kitchen was well equipped. However, the bathroom ceiling was very dirty, like it hadn't been aired out properly in a while. My pillow had someone else's used sticking plaster underneath, so the cleaners had possibly not changed the bedding properly. When our group all got up this morning to get ready, there was no hot water, and this was the case in about 6 of the rooms. I went to reception to pay my room fee, and let the lady know that there was no hot water, and that we had tried to phone from the room, but the phone did not work. She did apologise but did not seem too concerned, not did she offer anything off the room rate. This was my first stay in Hokitika, but I probably won't stay at this accomodation again next time.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 862amyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2019

After a tiring drive from christchurch we arrived just before reception closed. The location is at the edge of town so I would suggest you need a car to stay here.
Its only one house back from the beach but I would class it as a holiday destination, just a stop over motel.
Although the floor had a slight slope and it was obviously an older building the room was very well maintained and quite roomy. A great little kitchen area with everything you need.
We only stayed the night so it fit our purpose, it was the best deal when we booked but it i stayed in Hokitika again id try for somewhere else more central.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequentjaunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2019

Booked a 2 bed motel room for 2 nights online, based on the glowing reviews.
We walked in and it smelt of damp(?) the floor rolled downwards towards the front door. The kitchen was filled with mismatched crockery and cutlery and had last been updated in 1970s.
Bathroom was fine and beds were OK, but everything looked very dated and in need of a good clean/coat of paint.
6 TV channels which were flaky (we arrived on an appalling day) so kids were bored (most places advertise a Sky box- great for inclement weather).
Trampoline had seen better days and kids said it had no bounce left.
Beach was close though and a good location- the main positives.
We cancelled night 2 and found a better and cheaper place.
This place was OK but very tired.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2019

Stayed in the motel lodgings,sleeping 5; quaint fantastic New Zealand style bach set up, very clean with comfortable beds, Sky TV, practical kitchen with full ice tray on arrival, appreciated due to the beautiful warm weather we had. Easy 2 min walk to beach, can hear the waves at night, and excellent spot to take children to see glow worm den. About a 20min flat walk to the central township. For families excellent value for money. Recommend.

Room tip: Motels rooms are bigger than cabins
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews