We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Annabelle Motel(Hokitika)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
75
80
19
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
80
19
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglow worm dellone nightreceived a very warm welcomesmall holidayinteresting things to doreception ladythe kitchenliving areabedroom motel unitsingle bedminute walk to the beachwest coast hospitalitynew zealandlaundry roomreal bonusgreat place to stayper night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

The owners are very warm and welcoming and gave us some great recommendations. It's also a moment away from the glow worm dell.

It's only a 20 min walk from the town centre, which has lots to see and do.

I had a lovely swim in the pool, which was well maintained and very refreshing.

The facilities were clean and good and the park was peaceful. It is moments from the beach.

I would stay here again if I came back to Hokitika.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank V4rty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adele D, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Thank you so much for this lovely review. Glad you enjoyed it here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

There was a lovely welcome for us on arrival and the swimming pool was uncovered especially for us to have a swim. The accommodation was basic in our cabin, but adequate and we had everything we needed. The WiFi was difficult to connect to at times. The owner went out of her way to drop us into town so we could have a look around. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a basic self contained cabin with a queen bed and a single.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankee55, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review. Yes the swimming pool is getting a lot of use this summer the weather has been beautiful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Nights in this motel are cheap, god for a night or two stay whilst passing through Hokitika on a slight budget. Kitchen facility's are small in the motel block but usable enough to cook a small meal. Rooms contain 1 double bed and or option for singe bed with interior linkage through to neighboring motel rooms if necessary. Cleanliness was somewhat of a problem but beds were still decent. Swimming pool ask at front desk was a real bonus as beach is often to dangerous to swim at, very good for walking tho.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 16zelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankee55, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Am a bit confused with this review. I think you must have stayed in one of our budget cabins they are the only rooms with linkage to one another.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

The tiny kitchen is the first thing you see when you enter. There were microwave and kitchen items. There were a heater, 2 two-seater sofa and a 5-seater dining table. This is a small apartment with bad flooring (full of noises) and walls were thin. One single bed is in the living and 2 bedrooms with single and queen bed. The rooms and toilets were big enough for such size. No hair dryer nor towels. Only 2-3 power sockets can be found which is a little inconvenient for 6 adults in one unit. Free wifi was very limited at 200MB per person if I am not wrong.

There is a small but lowly maintained trampoline and children slides behind the unit.
The receptionists (assume the owners) were nice and told us where were the nearby places of interest. Overall it is ok for a night stay. Its the price you paid for anyway.

5m away attractions: Sunset beach and glow worm dell.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yngteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankee55, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Thank you for leaving this review but there are some things I need to clarify. Our walls are concrete block between each unit so I dont understand how you thought they were thin. Every room has a hair dryer which hangs on a hook opposite the toilet. Am flabbergasted that there were no towels. These are put on each bed when the bathroom is cleaned each day?????? The whole unit has 7 power sockets and we provide a power base with 5 or 6 sockets which is kept in the cupboard with extra pillows and blankets. Unfortunately we sent away for a padding for the trampoline but when it arrived it was too big so we are awaiting the arrival of one which will fit. Yes we are well located to go to the beach and the glow worm dell. Its a 3 minute drive from our motels to town and a 3 to 4 minute walk to the glow worms and beach. Im glad you enjoyed the introduction to Hokitika when you checked in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

My wife and I spent a night in this lovely quiet motel so close to the beach.the rooms were very spacious and a comfortable bed.there is a lovely area were you can sit outside and have a wine on a nice evening and it's not far from town .We found the owners just lovely friendly people that were very helpful .I would not hesitate to recommend the place to anyone for a nice quiet stay .the price is right also

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank old222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankee55, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you for leaving this lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed our garden especially with the weather so beautiful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews