We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
79
81
18
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
81
18
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glow worm dell one night small holiday the kitchen fantastic family spacious accommodation new zealand real bonus great place to stay per night would stay here again whitebait town centre free wifi min walk hokitika gorge cooking facilities
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile

The owners are very warm and welcoming and gave us some great recommendations. It's also a moment away from the glow worm dell.

It's only a 20 min walk from the town centre, which has lots to see and do.

I had a lovely swim in the pool, which was well maintained and very refreshing.

The facilities were clean and good and the park was peaceful. It is moments from the beach.

I would stay here again if I came back to Hokitika.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank V4rty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adele D, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Thank you so much for this lovely review. Glad you enjoyed it here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

There was a lovely welcome for us on arrival and the swimming pool was uncovered especially for us to have a swim. The accommodation was basic in our cabin, but adequate and we had everything we needed. The WiFi was difficult to connect to at times. The owner went out of her way to drop us into town so we could have a look around. Would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: We stayed in a basic self contained cabin with a queen bed and a single.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cherylr05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankee55, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review. Yes the swimming pool is getting a lot of use this summer the weather has been beautiful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

The tiny kitchen is the first thing you see when you enter. There were microwave and kitchen items. There were a heater, 2 two-seater sofa and a 5-seater dining table. This is a small apartment with bad flooring (full of noises) and walls were thin. One single bed is in the living and 2 bedrooms with single and queen bed. The rooms and toilets were big enough for such size. No hair dryer nor towels. Only 2-3 power sockets can be found which is a little inconvenient for 6 adults in one unit. Free wifi was very limited at 200MB per person if I am not wrong.

There is a small but lowly maintained trampoline and children slides behind the unit.
The receptionists (assume the owners) were nice and told us where were the nearby places of interest. Overall it is ok for a night stay. Its the price you paid for anyway.

5m away attractions: Sunset beach and glow worm dell.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yngteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankee55, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Thank you for leaving this review but there are some things I need to clarify. Our walls are concrete block between each unit so I dont understand how you thought they were thin. Every room has a hair dryer which hangs on a hook opposite the toilet. Am flabbergasted that there were no towels. These are put on each bed when the bathroom is cleaned each day?????? The whole unit has 7 power sockets and we provide a power base with 5 or 6 sockets which is kept in the cupboard with extra pillows and blankets. Unfortunately we sent away for a padding for the trampoline but when it arrived it was too big so we are awaiting the arrival of one which will fit. Yes we are well located to go to the beach and the glow worm dell. Its a 3 minute drive from our motels to town and a 3 to 4 minute walk to the glow worms and beach. Im glad you enjoyed the introduction to Hokitika when you checked in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

My wife and I spent a night in this lovely quiet motel so close to the beach.the rooms were very spacious and a comfortable bed.there is a lovely area were you can sit outside and have a wine on a nice evening and it's not far from town .We found the owners just lovely friendly people that were very helpful .I would not hesitate to recommend the place to anyone for a nice quiet stay .the price is right also

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank old222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankee55, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you for leaving this lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed our garden especially with the weather so beautiful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

We were in a camper van and stayed the one night - family run park with only 11 gravel sites - amenities were basic and to our needs - clean and tidy - friendly reception - it was full as were the motels rooms and cabins - not expensive so value for money

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GDay1044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankee55, Manager at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Thank you for an honest review of our Holiday Park.

Kind regards
Adele & Brian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews