We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
77
80
19
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
80
19
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glow worm dell one night reception lady the kitchen bedroom motel unit single bed new zealand great place to stay per night whitebait free wifi town centre would definitely stay here again hokitika gorge cooking facilities across the road comfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

My wife and I spent a night in this lovely quiet motel so close to the beach.the rooms were very spacious and a comfortable bed.there is a lovely area were you can sit outside and have a wine on a nice evening and it's not far from town .We found the owners just lovely friendly people that were very helpful .I would not hesitate to recommend the place to anyone for a nice quiet stay .the price is right also

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank old222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankee55, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you for leaving this lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed our garden especially with the weather so beautiful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

We were in a camper van and stayed the one night - family run park with only 11 gravel sites - amenities were basic and to our needs - clean and tidy - friendly reception - it was full as were the motels rooms and cabins - not expensive so value for money

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GDay1044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankee55, Manager at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Thank you for an honest review of our Holiday Park.

Kind regards
Adele & Brian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

What a cool little town hokitika is.
252 is about a k out of town and all the better for it. Stroll thru the ocean mist in to town for a pipi pizza. No whitebait pizza (it's a hokitika thing) tonight but lovely and warm.
Walk along the beach beach combing on your way back.
Rooms are a little dated but clean, well serviced and simple. Don't come expecting 5 star luxury and you won't be disappointed. Glow worm dell 300m away well worth it. Hokitika gorge wasn't blue when we came but amazing nonetheless and would return to see it in its glory another day.
Try a whitebait fritter from the fish and chip shop. Pricey but a good memory.
In our memories hokitika!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankee55, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are an older motel but very comfortable and relaxing all the return guests tell us so. So glad you enjoyed Hokitika.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We have stayed here numerous times, most recently on our way south and back again. Two seperate stays in just over a week.

I have to compliment Brian on such a well run complex. From booking to departure, he is friendly, welcoming and approachable. The units are clean and tidy, well cared for and have everything one needs, without the useless extras.

We really appreciated arriving to find the lights and heaters on for us, and for being able to settle our little dog down in her cage in the unit. We had been travelling with a dog unexpectantly in season, so she was miserable. Being able to stay near us helped immensely.

Well done, Brian. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whosemother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankee55, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

What a lovely review and thank you. We always try to have rooms warm when people arrive especially on chilly days and if we know what time to expect them. Will tell our cleaning staff what a good job they do its nice to be complimented on our cleanliness. Thank you for staying here its not hard to be nice to nice people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Ourselves and others have stayed here on previous occasions and always found it to be a quiet and serviceable establishment.
I get a bit spooked staying in residential areas as there is not a lot that can be done about neighbouring lunatics if they leer up on their own property, but having just stayed here again on a Friday night it proved to be a pleasant sojourn.
Arriving on a wet afternoon we had 3 options for rooms and went with mid-range end room on the motel unit, which is just as accessible to everything here as any other room, but came with bedding and cooking facilities.
Don't take fish though.
I didn't do a pre-inspection as we are familiar with the layout of the area, however the very friendly lady who booked us in opened up, brought the milk and turned on the heater and TV.
No ID or credit card required.
A little bit of a musty aroma; it is an occupational hazard down here: 97 feet of rain a year means you can't always air every room out every day.
It proved to be a very clean block-walled building with a comfortable bed and spacious shower, and although old-school in some respects had all the necessary facilities and I suspect had been renovated reasonably recently.
Located about 50 seconds walk from the beach and if you don't mind doing a Fred Astaire number, could sing yourself in the rain to the town centre.
I'd advise driving or cycling, depending which floats your boat.
Speaking of boats, the whole building is on a bit of a list to starboard...no signs of damage anywhere, it has obviously subsided a tad over the years and a tin of apricots on the kitchen floor will beat a path to the door like a possessed toy steamroller.
Yeah nah, no qualms about the place.

Room Tip: The end room closest to the office was very clean and spacious and I suspect recently renovated.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dwayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankee55, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Ha ha Dwayne what an entertaining and enjoyable review you have written thank you for the light hearted description to our place especially referal to the slight lean - this applies only to the first four rooms and has never been any different since we first came here 12 years ago not sure if the builders had a liquid lunch when laying the slab or what but nothing to worry about thats for sure. Yes we are a quiet location and a safe neighbourhood so all good there and its nice to be appreciated when we look after our guests. You certainly have a talent at writing you should start a book on your travels a light hearted entertaining sort of Lonely Planet!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews