We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
77
80
19
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
80
19
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glow worm dell one night reception lady the kitchen bedroom motel unit single bed new zealand great place to stay per night whitebait free wifi town centre would definitely stay here again hokitika gorge cooking facilities across the road comfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

What a cool little town hokitika is.
252 is about a k out of town and all the better for it. Stroll thru the ocean mist in to town for a pipi pizza. No whitebait pizza (it's a hokitika thing) tonight but lovely and warm.
Walk along the beach beach combing on your way back.
Rooms are a little dated but clean, well serviced and simple. Don't come expecting 5 star luxury and you won't be disappointed. Glow worm dell 300m away well worth it. Hokitika gorge wasn't blue when we came but amazing nonetheless and would return to see it in its glory another day.
Try a whitebait fritter from the fish and chip shop. Pricey but a good memory.
In our memories hokitika!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankee55, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are an older motel but very comfortable and relaxing all the return guests tell us so. So glad you enjoyed Hokitika.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We have stayed here numerous times, most recently on our way south and back again. Two seperate stays in just over a week.

I have to compliment Brian on such a well run complex. From booking to departure, he is friendly, welcoming and approachable. The units are clean and tidy, well cared for and have everything one needs, without the useless extras.

We really appreciated arriving to find the lights and heaters on for us, and for being able to settle our little dog down in her cage in the unit. We had been travelling with a dog unexpectantly in season, so she was miserable. Being able to stay near us helped immensely.

Well done, Brian. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whosemother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankee55, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

What a lovely review and thank you. We always try to have rooms warm when people arrive especially on chilly days and if we know what time to expect them. Will tell our cleaning staff what a good job they do its nice to be complimented on our cleanliness. Thank you for staying here its not hard to be nice to nice people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Ourselves and others have stayed here on previous occasions and always found it to be a quiet and serviceable establishment.
I get a bit spooked staying in residential areas as there is not a lot that can be done about neighbouring lunatics if they leer up on their own property, but having just stayed here again on a Friday night it proved to be a pleasant sojourn.
Arriving on a wet afternoon we had 3 options for rooms and went with mid-range end room on the motel unit, which is just as accessible to everything here as any other room, but came with bedding and cooking facilities.
Don't take fish though.
I didn't do a pre-inspection as we are familiar with the layout of the area, however the very friendly lady who booked us in opened up, brought the milk and turned on the heater and TV.
No ID or credit card required.
A little bit of a musty aroma; it is an occupational hazard down here: 97 feet of rain a year means you can't always air every room out every day.
It proved to be a very clean block-walled building with a comfortable bed and spacious shower, and although old-school in some respects had all the necessary facilities and I suspect had been renovated reasonably recently.
Located about 50 seconds walk from the beach and if you don't mind doing a Fred Astaire number, could sing yourself in the rain to the town centre.
I'd advise driving or cycling, depending which floats your boat.
Speaking of boats, the whole building is on a bit of a list to starboard...no signs of damage anywhere, it has obviously subsided a tad over the years and a tin of apricots on the kitchen floor will beat a path to the door like a possessed toy steamroller.
Yeah nah, no qualms about the place.

Room Tip: The end room closest to the office was very clean and spacious and I suspect recently renovated.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dwayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankee55, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Ha ha Dwayne what an entertaining and enjoyable review you have written thank you for the light hearted description to our place especially referal to the slight lean - this applies only to the first four rooms and has never been any different since we first came here 12 years ago not sure if the builders had a liquid lunch when laying the slab or what but nothing to worry about thats for sure. Yes we are a quiet location and a safe neighbourhood so all good there and its nice to be appreciated when we look after our guests. You certainly have a talent at writing you should start a book on your travels a light hearted entertaining sort of Lonely Planet!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Like many of the motels I stayed at in New Zealand, I contacted this motel on spec after reading information on the web. Rang and made a booking with a lovely lady (Susan) who was most helpful. Got a great room rate.

Arrived and was made welcome by the owner who provided a great review of things to do and places to see while in the Hokitika area. An added bonus was the fact that the glow worm dell was only a 400 metre walk from the motel.

I can highly recommend this motel!

Room Tip: All rooms looked to be good!
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankee55, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review. We are so happy to inform people on their arrival so that their experience in Hokitika is a memorable one. Our location is perfect with the beach being 1 minutes walk away and the glow worm dell so near. Glad you enjoyed our "Coolittletown."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

Such a nice welcome from the front staff lady, very helpful with all the activities/restaurant/things to do around - nice location and all facilities (kitchen, showers, toilets) were clean and tidy + very close to where you park your campervan.
Would definitely come back and recommend it to other travelers !

Stayed: May 2017
Thank morganev462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankee55, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thank you for leaving this review of our Motorhome Park. Glad you enjoyed it here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews