We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
StayForLong
Destinia.com
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
Booking.com
View all 6 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
222
30
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
222
30
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic house garden room new zealand one night wonderful hosts charming b b comfortable bed home baking tea and biscuits kind hosts excellent breakfast stayed longer place to stay local knowledge internet access arthur's pass spa bath
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Here your hosts go that one step further to make your stay a wonderful experience.
A glass of port, homemade cake , excellent breakfast. And central heating!
Very, very comfortable rooms. The Hoskins room at the back was quiet and has a great size ensuite.
There is also a lovely lounge to mix and meet other guests.

Date of stay: April 2021
Thank CarolCaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian W, Owner at Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi guys
Thanks so much for your lovely comments. How is the muesli going ?? Hope you have had a go at making it.We enjoyed hosting you both.
Best Regards
Frances and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2021 via mobile

The welcome at Teichelmann’s bed and breakfast set the tone for our two night stay, being at once warm, informative, relaxed and friendly. Brian and Frances are superb hosts, keen to help enhance their guests’ experience with their local knowledge and their knack for providing a comfortable but classy experience. The room we had in this former doctor’s establishment was very nicely appointed with a large and very comfortable bed, roomy and spotless bathroom and nice extras, including tea and coffee making facilities, in addition to the hot drinks and home baking offered by Frances in the communal lounge area. The view out over the sunny garden was lovely.
The breakfasts were delicious, home made mueslis and jams and fruit compotes, followed by your choice of cooked eggs, bacon, tomatoes and hash browns.
It was also very nice to linger over our tea and toast with Brian and Frances, and learn more about sites we planned on visiting each day.
The advantages of having your own private and very comfortable room as well as a communal sitting area and excellent breakfasts provided by very friendly hosts made the first two nights of our southern journey a highlight. Thanks, Brian abs Frances!

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RobynT793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2021

We loved everything about this BnB. Its location right in the heritage heart of Hokitika. it's beautiful rooms, devine breakfasts, suggestions on places to visit and entertaining stories. We were lavished with hospitality. We stayed on an extra day from planned as it was such a gem. Thank you Francis and Brian for the effort you make. Trish

Room tip: Ask for the cottage
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Petertrish12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2021

We stayed with Brian and Francis when cycling the West Coast Wilderness Trail. Our room was perfect with a comfortable king size bed, heater, tv, internet access, coffee and tea facilities, and a beautiful bathroom with heated floor, powerful shower, view to the garden,and a spa. Brian and Francis were warm, knowleadgeable about the city and happy to chat. They were also kind, and offered help to dry our clothes after a day of cycling in the rain. I look forward to be back!

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 574clarac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2020

Brian and Frances provided a warm welcome to our family of four. We were wet with bikes, on the Wilderness Trail. They helped with our bikes, Brian very kindly cleaned them. Sorted out our wet gear and helped to warm us up with tea and biscuits. Our rooms were beautifully equiped. The beds were very comfortable. This is a lovely historic house and a "must stay" on the West Coast. The breakfast provided was of exceptional quality and all home made. Thank you so much for making the end of our little holiday so wonderful!

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiwitravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews