We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Booking.com
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
219
30
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
219
30
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic house garden room new zealand one night wonderful hosts charming b b comfortable bed tea and biscuits kind hosts south island our honeymoon stayed longer place to stay arthur's pass spa bath hokitika gorge yogurt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed with Brian and Francis when cycling the West Coast Wilderness Trail. Our room was perfect with a comfortable king size bed, heater, tv, internet access, coffee and tea facilities, and a beautiful bathroom with heated floor, powerful shower, view to the garden,and a spa. Brian and Francis were warm, knowleadgeable about the city and happy to chat. They were also kind, and offered help to dry our clothes after a day of cycling in the rain. I look forward to be back!

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 574clarac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2020

Brian and Frances provided a warm welcome to our family of four. We were wet with bikes, on the Wilderness Trail. They helped with our bikes, Brian very kindly cleaned them. Sorted out our wet gear and helped to warm us up with tea and biscuits. Our rooms were beautifully equiped. The beds were very comfortable. This is a lovely historic house and a "must stay" on the West Coast. The breakfast provided was of exceptional quality and all home made. Thank you so much for making the end of our little holiday so wonderful!

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwitravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2020

We picked Teichelmanns for a one night stop on our way north, if only we had known we could have planned it better and stayed longer. We were greeted warmly by Frances and Brian and they had put us in the cottage which was an added treat. Next came tea and home made cookies in the garden. After a lovely sit down with Frances and Brian we settled into the cottage which is very well appointed, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Hokitika is a nice place and after a wander we settled down for a very comfortable night. Breakfast was a treat, a real delight and then we left knowing we wanted more of Teichelmanns’s. Frances and Brian are amongst the most welcoming, friendly and kind hosts we have met during our four months in New Zealand, their accommodation is superb and we really hope to visit again.

Room tip: The cottage was lovely
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian Ward, Owner at Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2020

Many thanks for this glowing review. No more guests for us now until hopefully November.When all this VIRUS stuff is sorted.We hope you are enjoying the rest of your NZ adventure, it will be one holiday to remember !!! Safe travel home. Maybe next time the train trips may happen !!!
Best Regards
Frances and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2020 via mobile

Frances and Brian were such warm and wonderful hosts - full of information, history, and chat. The room was immaculate and breakfast was a treat. Everything is just a walk away in quaint and quirky Hokitika. All in all, can’t recommend highly enough.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank nicholasetherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian Ward, Owner at Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2020

Hi
Many thanks for this glowing review.We are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay in " Our Cool Little Town" Also hope that you made it home before the " Virus" changed every ones travel plans.It was a pleasure to meet you both.
Best Regards
Frances and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2020

After a long, scenic drive from Christchurch over Arthur's Pass, we were welcomed with tea in the garden outside our comfortable room--a perfect respite from the day. The location is convenient for walking to craft and jade shops, and the breakfast was superb. The one caveat is that Brian and Frances have the place up for sale, so no guarantees that their generous hosting will be available next year.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank davidsY7487PK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astraclose, Owner at Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2020

We are delighted that you had a relaxing time here in Hokitika.Yes, our property is perfectly placed to walk to the beach, river, cafes SHOPS !!! etc etc.We have been hosting for 20 years and now wish to retire and travel ourselves. Thanks so much for the positive review.
Best Regards
Frances and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews