We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
217
30
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
217
30
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic house garden room new zealand one night wonderful hosts charming b b comfortable bed tea and biscuits kind hosts south island our honeymoon stayed longer place to stay arthur's pass spa bath hokitika gorge yogurt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2019 via mobile

We managed to get to Hokitika via The Lewis Pass, hoping to reach Franz Joseph. It was not to be as the road was closed due to the torrential rain. However, we had a lovely time in Hokitika mainly as our hosts Francis and Brian were incredible.

We stayed in the garden room, which had a very comfortable bed and a huge en-suite with a spa bath, plus a lovely sunny deck.
Breakfast was always fresh fruit, yogurt and muesli plus toast, juice and then whatever eggs you wished for. Tea and coffee are in plentiful supply with cake when you return each afternoon.

Helpful advice is given on what to do and we were even dropped off by Brian for a particular walk. We were invited to the local quiz night, although I am not sure about our contribution!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank FamilyB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astraclose, Owner at Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2019

Hi
Thank you so much for such positive feedback.We were delighted that you finally made it to the West Coast albeit the long way round!!! Hope the weather is behaving at the top of the South Island and you may even get a swim !!
Merry Christmas to you both and safe travel home to the UK. Brexit or not !!
Best Regards
Frances and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2019 via mobile

We unfortunately stayed only one night at this wonderful place which has 6 wonderful rooms equipped with queen or kingsized beds, an own bathroom and the possibility to help yourself out with a tea or coffee. The rooms in this historic house are lovingly furnished. We had a very warm welcome from our hosts Frances and Brian. Thank you very much for your good recommends and your kindness. Definetely a Place to stay again in the future.
Thank you.

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank sebh550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astraclose, Owner at Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2019

Thanks so much for your positive feedback.We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in our " Cool Little Town"
Best Regards
Frances and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2019

Cannot recommend enough a trip to Hokitika, where a stay at Teichelmann’s B&B is well advised. My wife and I spent the night here on the second night of our 10-day trip around the South Island — our honeymoon trip, which Frances and Brian were sure to make special for us. We stayed in the detached, cozy cottage, which was lovely with a nice bathroom.

Hokitika is so charming. Lots of shops and places to eat. We recommend the Kitchen immediately next door for some terrific food (huge portions) and a warm, jovial atmosphere.

And plenty of great things to see and do, including taking in the sunset, visiting the glow worm dells and exploring Hokitika Gorge and the Treetop Walkway on the way out of town ... all of which we were able to do in less than 24 hours.

But I’d be completely remiss not to discuss the incredible hospitality of Frances and Brian. They are the loveliest of people and made us feel like family. Their B&B felt just like home. The breakfast they prepared for us was hearty and delicious. And the conversation as we ate was terrific. Frances and Brian are just wonderful people and we hated not having more than a day to spend there, learning about the town and discussing music.

When we return to this part of the world, we most certainly will be staying here again. Our visit to Teichelmann’s is one of the many reasons we fell in love with New Zealand.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astraclose, Owner at Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2019

Hi Guys
We are delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us here in " Our Cool Little Town"
We do hope the rest of your " well deserved" honeymoon went well.Thanks so much for your positive comments.
Best Regards
Frances and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2019 via mobile

Enjoyed a quick 1 night stay at Teichelmann’s B&B. We stayed in the cottage which was very clean and comfortable with a large bathroom. Breakfast was delicious and the company of the other guests at the table was lovely- as well as the hosts, Francis and Brian!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank oliviaoh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astraclose, Owner at Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2019

How nice of you to comment on your stay with us. It is great to get positive reviews.It makes our job worthwhile.Enjoy the rest of your trip here in NZ. Safe travel home .
Best Regards
Frances and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2019

A fabulous B& B. We stayed in the Garden Suite and the bed was extremely comfortable. The room was beautifully styled and I loved Brian's artwork as seen from the bathroom window! The breakfast was outstanding with delicious homemade produce.
Frances and Brian are the epitome New Zealand B& B owners.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Theresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
astraclose, Owner at Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2019

Thank so much for your comments.We had lots of fun planning the Garden Suite, and the garden from the window is a bit whimsical.
Kind regards
Frances and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews