We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dennis R

Great Rural Lodge

Review of Kawhaka Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Feb 2019
The lodge itself is located down a gravel road but worth the dust. The host Sam and Doug are down to earth people. If you hit it off with Stella the pet wild pig then Doug will share a beer or two with you.
The lodge itself is beautifully constructed timber lodge which was worth the trip just to see. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with modern bathrooms.
Sam is a wonderful host and supplies a tea/ beer with nibbles on arrival.
Dinner is a short drive to Hokitki or as we did bring your salad and smoked salmon with local soft cheese.
Make sure to ask about the river swim at the back of the property which is very refreshing and a real treat to swim in clean highlands stream
Sam provides a nice breakfast in the morning and Doug is a fountain of knowledge on all things model steam trains and hunting.
Date of stay: February 2019
Room Tip: All rooms look out to veradah surrounding the house
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$575
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $575
13.2 km from Kawhaka Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Kokitika Gorge
Tripadvisor
$150
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
14.0 km from Kawhaka Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$205
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
14.6 km from Kawhaka Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$121
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
13.7 km from Kawhaka Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$162
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
12.3 km from Kawhaka Lodge
Free parking
2 bedroom main bedroom
Tripadvisor
$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
14.3 km from Kawhaka Lodge
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$155
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
15.0 km from Kawhaka Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$171
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
14.7 km from Kawhaka Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lounge area cottage
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $73
  • eDreams
14.3 km from Kawhaka Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
15.1 km from Kawhaka Lodge
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Hokitika
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveller rating
6
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
6
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 6 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Fantastic private location just 15 mins from town, not remote but certainly ideal for a quiet getaway. Hosts are so accommodating, the rooms are sparkly clean, great comfy beds, the list goes on. If you are traveling and want a five star west coast experience, Kawhaka Lodge should certainly be on your list!
Wish we could have stayed longer & will certainly be back!!
Thanks Sam & Doug & the pig & the chickens & the Deer xxx

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eseret0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Had a short stay in Jan 2017 with my wife and sons. We wish we had booked a longer stay. Hospitality was excellent. Sam and her husband Doug are wonderfully warm considerate and welcoming. Felt so much at home and when we left it felt like leaving good friends we'd known for years. Locations was beautiful, accommodation was stunning, breakfast was excellent. Would defintely go back if we travel to NZ again. I would highly recommend this place.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 488MarkA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Sam and Doug, the owners, made every effort to attend to our requests and needs. We were specifically on a fishing trip and the wet weather had really dampened the fishing opportunities making many of the rivers and streams in the area unfishable. In spite of that we had a wonderful time at the lodge. We were able to find some good fishing options on our own and Sam also arranged for an outstanding guide to take us fishing on a day when the weather would have made it impossible to fish without his guidance. We had great fishing.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyfishmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Had a fabulous two night stay at kawhaka lodge, very peaceful comfortables bed, and ofcourse marj and tony are great hosts. Can wait to stay there again.We also had dinner here and tony cooked a beautiful pork belly. We had a look around their cranberrie farm and got to try the yummy cranberries.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corrinad944
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I'm one of the helper and I was lucky to have Marj & Allan for my first helpx experience, and was lucky enough to stay at this comfy lodge during last breeze spring. 2 weeks staying at here and I don't feel like leaving it's way too great to stay. Mark & Allan are very friendly and nice person, thanks for the ride the Christchurch by the way. Summer stay would definitely be a good memory. It's far from town centre, but river for nice fly fishing is just nearby.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews