We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sightseer00578982878
Christchurch, New Zealand

Jade backpackers now closed

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Mar 2023
Booked a while back but then discovered that this backpackers actually closed permanently in Sept 2022 so is no longer available for accommodation. The building still has backpackers sign up and there is nothing on front door to tell you it is closed but this is the case.
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$178
  • Priceline
    $178
  • ZenHotels.com
    $164
  • Expedia.com
    $178
0.4 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
$384
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $387
  • ZenHotels.com
    $337
  • Hotels.com
    $387
0.2 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
$150
  • Priceline
    $121
  • Agoda.com
    $113
  • Expedia.com
    $132
0.2 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
$155
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $155
  • Agoda.com
    $145
  • Hotels.com
    $155
1.2 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Kokitika Gorge
$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $143
  • Agoda.com
    $133
  • Expedia.com
    $150
1.0 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our Beachfront Chalets
$144
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $144
  • Expedia.com
    $144
  • Hotels.com
    $144
1.4 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lounge area cottage
$140
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $140
  • Agoda.com
    $65
  • ZenHotels.com
    $73
1.4 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
A True Hokitika Gem over looking the Hokitika River
$82
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $83
  • Vio.com
    $83
  • ZenHotels.com
0.2 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
$320
  • Priceline
    $320
  • Vio.com
    $320
  • eDreams
    $320
13.0 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
$87
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $87
  • Vio.com
    $87
  • Agoda.com
4.1 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hokitika
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
55
34
11
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
55
34
11
5
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2021

Loved the location and the staff were really friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Room was great and as described. Had a nice lounge area to hang out in and the free toast in the morning was a nice bonus. Not flashy but very cozy. Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Arohanuitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 December 2020

Our large group of 26 was very well accommodated at Mountain Jade Backpackers. The owners couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, and went to the extra mile to adjust to some last minute changes we requested. There was plenty of hot water for the many showers, and we had comfortable beds, plenty of room for communal relaxation, and a good basic breakfast. The location is excellent for easy access to some great eating places in Hokitika, and the generous vehicle parking and safe bike storage is a bonus. I heartily recommend this backpackers for a very affordable and pleasant stay in Hokitika.

Room tip: Since we occupied most of the rooms there was no issue for quietness etc and even on a Saturday night Hokitika is very quiet!
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillo744
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2020 via mobile

The place is right in the center of things, owner was friendly and the place was clean. Good prices.

I really want to give this place five stars. I just simply can’t, because the bed was literally the worst I’ve slept on my entire life. Like, if there had been room I would have chosen the floor instead.
It was this thick squishy, foam thing that, when sat or lied on, flattened into a sort of taco-like shape where your bum was hitting the frame but shoulders and back were folded up. My head hit the metal bar all night. Also, I was on the top bunk, so trying to climb into this thing with nothing to grab was like mounting a marshmallow. Even an worn old spring mattress would have been preferable.
Nothing against the staff, I just can’t recommend anyone stay here for this reason.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Renegadebotanicals
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2020

We rented a room with a comfortable bunk (single up top, 3/4 down below. Upper bunk access easy for those over 50. Sufficient floor space for luggage and bags. Parking is down the stairs out back. The property was sparsely occupied during our stay due to road washouts in the area during the month of our visit, which made time in the kitchen and showers rather private and unhurried. Roomy, secure showers with good hair dryer. The kitchen is well stocked with the essentials. The wifi is excellent. Definitely recommended for an affordable, comfortable stay.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 December 2019

The worst place I have ever seen - not recommended to anyone. The room is shittty - booking.com pic didn’t convey the poor reality. There was no info that all bathrooms are shared and close at 11 pm for guests. We had to lose money and move to another place for overnight stay as this one can only be taken if u r totally desperate. John, the owner, is a very unpleasant person that treats his guests in a rude way. I don’t recommend anyone to stay here.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank WomanOfTheWorld09
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VIS2407, Owner at Mountain Jade Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2020

This person and companion arrived late at night , clearly very travel weary and became disgruntled when she realized she had made a mistake and booked a private room with shared facility , demanding a refund ($61) . She insisted dot .com had incorrectly described the room which is simply rubbish . She became very intimidating ,bulling and my wife became very upset at her demeanor , and in the the end , she was asked to leave the building.
Her behavior was simply unacceptable in this (most) countries . Woman of the World Grow Up

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews