We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Bayjb
Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Great WiFi and comfy rooms

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Apr 2019via mobile
This is the best hostel WiFi I’ve had in NZ. Honestly. It’s super fast and reliable.

Hostel is attached to a jade store and coffee shop, next to the clock tower. Parking is available on the street or in the lot behind the building. Don’t worry if it says P60 or other numbers, cars can stay there overnight.

Hostel is also cozy and relaxing. Big common area with tons of tables and couches, nice kitchen, shower room and bedrooms. Beds are comfy and it’s quiet outside at night. Huge power strip for charging too in each room.

Manager lives on site and is very nice and helpful.

It’s 40-ish minutes to Greymouth and 1.25 hours to Pancake rocks, both good day trips.

Would recommend this place and would stay again.
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.2 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $167
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Kitchen
Go to your Happy Price
  • ZenHotels.com
  • eDreams
0.7 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $228
  • Expedia.com
    $268
0.2 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
$146
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
6.6 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Kokitika Gorge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $153
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 bedroom main bedroom
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $132
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
13.0 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hokitika
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
55
34
11
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
55
34
11
5
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2019 via mobile

Clean, well appointed hostel with every amenity a backpacker needs and friendly staff always happy to help. 

The things people normally gripe about in hostels? They're non-existant at Mountain Jade. The communal showers are always really clean, and the water pressure is strong. The comfortable communal area has a TV with Netflix perfect for relaxing after a hard day in the mountains, and the nights are quiet - no unruly parties or people cooking add odd hours - as there is a staff member on site at all times. 

My room was clean, neat and tidy, and warm on the colder nights. 

The free parking and free unlimited Wi-Fi and free breakfast (milk, tee and coffee; a variety of cereals; toast and a variety of spreads) were the three cherries on the cake.

I'll definitely be back.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank AprilChaplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 March 2019

The hostel was in the centre of town, staff were welcoming, kitchen well-equipped, and the free breakfast was a nice addition (though basic).

Dorm rooms felt a little crowded and chaotic, as did the shared dining/lounge area.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2019 via mobile

The place is great! Nice showers, really clean and the rooms were a good size. Just a short walk to the beach, which is lovely to watch the sunset. Loads of parking and good WiFi. Triona was so welcoming and friendly.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Katie0830
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2019 via mobile

Lovely hostel in Hokitika which is right in the centre of town. The woman running it was great and very welcoming. The beds were comfy with a spacious room and smelt lovely. The kitchen was well stocked and a great place to meet people. Worth a walk down to sunset point!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Laurencarr18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2019 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hostel and it was a great experience. The hostel is situated on the town's main street next to the clock tower. There is plenty of parking in the town as there is no enforcement. The hostel is above a shop selling jade and a café.

Mountain Jade Backpackers is a friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. The hostel was very clean and well maintained. The common area has a TV with a Netflix account and fibre connection Internet making it very fast. The kitchen is relatively small but well equipped with sufficient fridge and storage space.

The dorm room I stayed in was an average size, although it isn't the hostel's fault if the occupants are messy! The beds were comfortable and clean. There was also a plug multiplier so there were plenty of sockets to use.

In the reception area there was plenty of information on local and regional activities as well as restaurants and take outs. Hokitika Gorge is a must in this region and the lakes too.

Overall a great stay and would recommend.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank mrlukenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews