We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
April
Brunswick, Australia

Everything you need at a great price!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Apr 2019via mobile
Clean, well appointed hostel with every amenity a backpacker needs and friendly staff always happy to help. 

The things people normally gripe about in hostels? They're non-existant at Mountain Jade. The communal showers are always really clean, and the water pressure is strong. The comfortable communal area has a TV with Netflix perfect for relaxing after a hard day in the mountains, and the nights are quiet - no unruly parties or people cooking add odd hours - as there is a staff member on site at all times. 

My room was clean, neat and tidy, and warm on the colder nights. 

The free parking and free unlimited Wi-Fi and free breakfast (milk, tee and coffee; a variety of cereals; toast and a variety of spreads) were the three cherries on the cake.

I'll definitely be back.
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$349
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $349
0.2 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
$133
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
A True Hokitika Gem over looking the Hokitika River
$82
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.2 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.2 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $170
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $152
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Kokitika Gorge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $157
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $164
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 bedroom main bedroom
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $160
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $297
  • Booking.com
12.5 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hokitika
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
55
34
11
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
55
34
11
5
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2019

The hostel was in the centre of town, staff were welcoming, kitchen well-equipped, and the free breakfast was a nice addition (though basic).

Dorm rooms felt a little crowded and chaotic, as did the shared dining/lounge area.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2019 via mobile

The place is great! Nice showers, really clean and the rooms were a good size. Just a short walk to the beach, which is lovely to watch the sunset. Loads of parking and good WiFi. Triona was so welcoming and friendly.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Katie0830
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2019 via mobile

Lovely hostel in Hokitika which is right in the centre of town. The woman running it was great and very welcoming. The beds were comfy with a spacious room and smelt lovely. The kitchen was well stocked and a great place to meet people. Worth a walk down to sunset point!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Laurencarr18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2019 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hostel and it was a great experience. The hostel is situated on the town's main street next to the clock tower. There is plenty of parking in the town as there is no enforcement. The hostel is above a shop selling jade and a café.

Mountain Jade Backpackers is a friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. The hostel was very clean and well maintained. The common area has a TV with a Netflix account and fibre connection Internet making it very fast. The kitchen is relatively small but well equipped with sufficient fridge and storage space.

The dorm room I stayed in was an average size, although it isn't the hostel's fault if the occupants are messy! The beds were comfortable and clean. There was also a plug multiplier so there were plenty of sockets to use.

In the reception area there was plenty of information on local and regional activities as well as restaurants and take outs. Hokitika Gorge is a must in this region and the lakes too.

Overall a great stay and would recommend.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank mrlukenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 February 2019

Quite clean, good location, average mattress, worst pillows ever. Seemed to be shaping up as an ok if not sensational night. Large group appeared and immediately felt like they took over - I learnt you could fit the “f” word 3times in a 7 word sentence - each and every loudly yelled sentence - on and on and on. I tried twice to approach the manager and was totally shut down - told they were fine,she runs it tight and they would settle at 10pm -and they were just a group of old men - I felt mocked - then she went off to bed on the other side of the hostel while my daughter and I lay there listening to the foul language till late late in the night -and a few hours break before it started again in the morning. Maybe thicker walls would help Just a harmless group of older men who all rode their Harley’s in very loud disrespected every other guest and all wearing matching logo and their “club” name the next day. The manager after I approached her the second time refused to make eye contact and walked by without a greeting. Worst night of this trip - and frankly can’t think of a worse one any other trip.

Room tip: Would not go back
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews