We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
The Kings
Southland Region, New Zealand

Awesome stay thanks John and Triona

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Nov 2018via mobile
Was an awesome stay thanks guys nice price and complementary breakfast such an amazing place in the middle of Hokitika and even had an evening meet and greet with crackers and dips and some tasty homemade bread made by John.
Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$232
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $232
0.2 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
$93
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $93
1.2 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
$161
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $161
0.4 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our Beachfront Chalets
$128
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $128
1.4 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
$157
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $134
  • Expedia.com
    $148
0.2 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Kokitika Gorge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $191
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lounge area cottage
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $88
  • StayForLong
1.4 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
  • eDreams
  • Official Site
    $142
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free parking
Comfortable bed
  • eDreams
  • Official Site
    $150
  • Priceline
4.0 km from Mountain Jade Backpackers
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hokitika
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
55
34
11
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
55
34
11
5
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2018

This is a great place to stay in Hokitika. The staff are friendly, the dorm room is big and spacious with lots of natural light, it's all super clean, the free breakfast is great, it's in an ideal location close to the bus stop, and they have lots of recommendations for things to do in the area. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank NickP2340
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. Easy to book. When we realised we were going to be later than check in time they txt door code. Lounge area was cosy. Dorm was large. Clean and comfortable would stay again.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank harvarddriver2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night as a alternative to the kiwi ex stop and it was such a good decision! John and his wife are lovely hosts and go out of their way to make sure you have a comfortable stay. The place was clean, kitchen well stocked and the female dorm was a decent size. The atmosphere is calm yet sociable. Highly recommend! Would have loved to stay longer.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank MichelleShellD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Had a friendly welcome in the hostel.
However, the room smelled a little unfresh and mouldy and wasn't very clean.
Was unlucky with the roommates as they were very loud but that's not something the owners can change.
WiFi didn't work super well, but we'll enough.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Marie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

Our family enjoyed our stay, Lovely manager, Loved the glow worms, Record shop was amazing at the end of town. Also great fish and chip shop by the river .We will return .Really want to see the Hokitika Gorge next time.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank social2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews