We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
46
33
10
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
33
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews own bathroom clock tower the kitchen female dorm lovely manager dorm room stayed here for nights one night centre of town great feel hokitika gorge great central location off street parking lounge area free wifi a great place to stay walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2017

Really good location, a walking distance from everything including the beach, and 1 minute from the main road as well. The owner is really nice, welcomed me with a smile and gave me a long tour at the hostel. There is a DVD library so you can enjoy from a movie after a long day. It was really cool to watch something you choose after long time. The kitchen was really good, lots of room for food and large and clean fridge. The room was really nice, and clean, couldn't ask for more. I think that Hokitika is quite boring city but for a night or 2 this is the perfect place.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gal Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Hi Thank you for your great review.
We are very happy that you had a great stay with us.
Yes we do have a very large DVD selection for those days when it is a bit Rainy(we get them sometimes).
We hope the rest of your stay in New Zealand is as good.
Safe Travels
Mountain Jade Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

I booked a single room at Mountain Jade – when I got there sun was streaming in through the windows and there was a great view of Hokitika's main street. Host was helpful, facilities were clean, and the free wi-fi was appreciated. Thanks!

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrspidernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Hi Thank you for your great review.
We are very pleased that you had a great stay with us here.
Yes we have had some fantastic weather here in Hokitika winter is a great time to see this part of new Zealand.
We hope to see you again some time.
Safe travels
Mountain Jade Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

We stayed in a lovely self contained apartment on Feb 23.
Reached there just before 9pm as we had been driving from Christchurch and had a couple of hikes at Arthur's pass. If we had been further delayed checkin may have become difficult as the owner does not stay onsite at night. He's a nice friendly guy though.
Next day we checked out early by 7am, dropped off the key as instructed and drove off to see the lovely hokitika gorge before driving onward to Franzjosef. So a very short stay here but it was GREAT

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IndFamTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Hi Thank you for your great review of us.
We are very happy that you had a great time on the west coast.
We hope that the rest of your travels around New Zealand are as good.
Safe Travels
Mountain Jade Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We stayed here for two nights in mid April. The hostel is kept very clean and tidy by the owner/manager, who seemed always to be busy folding towels and sheets, making up beds etc. We stayed in a double room which was pretty small but had lots of windows so was quite light. It was no problem to share the (very clean) bathrooms or the kitchen. The showers worked well, with plenty of hot water.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Hi
Thank you for your comments on us here.
We are happy to hear that you had a good time with us here and hope the rest of your time in New Zealand is the same.
Safe Travels
Mountain Jade Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

Too many Bed bugs there, Avoid!
I got biten Whole body, Face ,arms,back, Most Itchy Ever Never!!!!!!!!!!
Everywhere swolen ,No efect medicine, Storong Bed bugs!!!!!!
I got spend monay for madicine, Dr. fee, Extra accomodation e.t.c.
cleaner staff
"Jhon" was no appolozize, moreover he was on perpose reccomend terrible Bed bug room to me!
He didn't no clean up room and no Exchange linen, sheets.
Sheets was dirty, atrached before guests hairs,
Dirty harmful Worst Back packer in the World!!!!!
I had to waste all my clothes and Suit case .
Too much Bed bugs and eggs was fly and fall outed that  room.!!!!!!!
Holler 、Dadly Worst Gross Back packer!!!!!!

Room tip: Avoid!!!!!!!!Too many Bed bugs there!!! Dadly Worst Back packer!!!!
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pppoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Hi
Thank you for your review.
We did go over the entire room as you did see us starting with the Commercial steam vacum, The beds were stripped completely.
Every time a bed is used all of the sheets etc are changed and fresh sheets put back on.
I did ask you to check your bags which you did not as we did not find any bugs at all and suspected that you had them in your bags.
Your comment saying that you found bugs and egg's in your gear confirm's to me that you had them in your bags before you came here.

Mounatin Jade Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews