We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jamfactory
Rangiora, New Zealand
Good but needs updating.
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Dec 2021via mobile
Had all the basics but getting a little tried. The couch was past its used by date ie no stuffing! And the remainder of the furniture needs renewing. The wifi was rubbish. The good points are: it had what you needed to cook a basic meal, was clean and tidy (except for stain on couch), warm and tidy and sky TV was a bonus. Parking and location was great. Lady at office (not owner) was nice.
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$206
  • Priceline
    $206
  • Expedia.com
    $190
  • Hotels.com
    $202
0.3 km from Heritage Highway Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$384
  • Expedia.com
    $370
  • Hotels.com
    $371
  • Vio.com
    $371
0.3 km from Heritage Highway Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 bedroom main bedroom
Booking.com
$160
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $132
  • Agoda.com
    $113
  • Priceline
    $160
1.0 km from Heritage Highway Motel
Free parking
Booking.com
$155
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $153
  • Agoda.com
    $150
  • Hotels.com
    $152
1.1 km from Heritage Highway Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$185
  • Expedia.com
    $185
  • Hotels.com
    $175
  • Priceline
    $185
0.4 km from Heritage Highway Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$230
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $189
  • eDreams
2.7 km from Heritage Highway Motel
Free parking
Lounge area cottage
Booking.com
$165
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $165
  • Agoda.com
    $62
  • eDreams
    $165
1.5 km from Heritage Highway Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$102
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
    $102
  • eDreams
    $102
4.1 km from Heritage Highway Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $170
  • Agoda.com
    $148
  • Hotels.com
    $170
0.9 km from Heritage Highway Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $165
  • Hotels.com
    $165
  • Priceline
    $165
1.5 km from Heritage Highway Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Hokitika
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
29
41
17
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
41
17
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews good size studio unit laundry facilities comfy bed motel units shower town kitchen tv microwave noise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2021

Well priced. We stayed 4 nights in a twin room unit with cooking facilities and a lovely spa bath, plus cooking facility. Bed comfortable and a solid range of TV programs.

Recommend to all as good value for money, nice location too, close to River bridge and main street entrance

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alec w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2021 via mobile

We are couple from Wellington passing through Hokitika. This was our second visit to this motel. Friendly reception gave us the last room. It exceeded our expectations. Numbet one for us, was no air freshener lingering, number two an up to date bathroom with a new modern toilet, the only one we came across in a week of visiting motels in the South Island.
Ask for Unit one, it has two bedrooms, lounge, and kitchen. Fresh and very clean, highly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cookingali
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2021

We stayed one night, the man in the office was pleasant and welcoming, the unit was clean and looked to be recently repainted, it was a good size. The man asked if we'd been to Hokitika before, we hadn't, he recommended driving to Hokitika Gorge and Lake Kaniere which we did, well worth it. Also said if we wanted a simple, good meal to try the pub 'over the back', the Pioneer, a good choice. Handy to the main shopping street, we'd be happy to go back again.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AliNel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 November 2020

Booked in and asked for the two bedroom unit (we prefer more space when it is cost effective). Overall size of the room was excellent and it had everything we needed. It appeared to be their son on reception when we arrived, he was pleasant enough. It was clean, tidy and functional so did the trick for the one night perfectly.

Only downside was having to park a little away from right the unit but that's nothing major.

Would be happy to stay again if we were travelling through.

Room tip: Two bedroom was was excellent if you want more space
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DINKZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 October 2020 via mobile

This hotel is located just as you enter Hokitika. Decent location and a short walk to town centre. Rooms comfortable and clean but certainly not new or modern. Hosts were a little strange. When checking in the lady says to me "That comes to $339." Then mutters under her breath "Not sure how that works, but anyway". Insinuating it was too cheap and we got some amazing deal? An interesting way to speak to a new guest. Also had issues with the host overcharging for the laundry (room says $4 but she charged $5. Principle not the money) she also removed our washing from the laundry and put it in the dryer without asking or checking if it could all be tumble dried. Tried to act as though she was helping but really she just had her own washing to do. Frankly the guest laundry should not be the same laundry that the hosts are using to do their washing. Other issues with hotel - piles of dog poo all through the trampoline and mini golf area and a 6am train every morning that was very loud. Our stay was OK but the hosts could perhaps remember they are hosts and customer service comes first.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Rory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews